The Instigator
cheeryy_cake
Pro (for)
Losing
0 Points
The Contender
studentathletechristian8
Con (against)
Winning
22 Points

Do we tend to accept the opinions of others instead of developing our own independent ideas?

Do you like this debate?NoYes+1
Add this debate to Google Add this debate to Delicious Add this debate to FaceBook Add this debate to Digg  
Post Voting Period
The voting period for this debate has ended.
after 4 votes the winner is...
studentathletechristian8
Voting Style: Open Point System: 7 Point
Started: 8/4/2009 Category: Education
Updated: 8 years ago Status: Post Voting Period
Viewed: 9,789 times Debate No: 9134
Debate Rounds (2)
Comments (26)
Votes (4)

 

cheeryy_cake

Pro

of course using yur idea is better.
studentathletechristian8

Con

As Instigator and Pro, my opponent has the Burden of Proof to affirm the resolution. If I can refute my opponent, I have negated the resolution.

I contend that we can accept opinions and still develop our own independent ideas . For example, if someone says, "That blond girl is hot," I can accept that opinion but make my own, independent idea about the girl. If I didn't like blonds, I would still accept his opinion but make my own independent choice to find her unattractive.

Thank you.
Debate Round No. 1
cheeryy_cake

Pro

cheeryy_cake forfeited this round.
studentathletechristian8

Con

My opponent has forfeited the previous round and has not made a single argument. I heavily urge a Con vote.

In the first round, my opponent quoted:

"of course using yur idea is better"
This does not provide evidence or even create an argument. It is a generalization that my opponent did not support.

I thank my opponent and the readers for the debate. Due to my opponent's essential forfeit of the entire debate, I heavily urge a Con vote. Thank you.
Debate Round No. 2
26 comments have been posted on this debate. Showing 1 through 10 records.
Posted by mongeese 8 years ago
mongeese
I have basically the same RFD.
Posted by studentathletechristian8 8 years ago
studentathletechristian8
I appreciate the RFD
Posted by Lifeisgood 8 years ago
Lifeisgood
RFD

B/A: Tie.
Conduct: Con. Pro forfeited.
S/G: Con. Pro had multiple errors.
Arguments: Con. Pro made no arguments whatsoever.
Posted by studentathletechristian8 8 years ago
studentathletechristian8
Sniper, was that a point designated to my position?
Posted by Sniperjake1994 8 years ago
Sniperjake1994
2 heads r better than 1.
Posted by Rezzealaux 8 years ago
Rezzealaux
LM: Independent as in having zero links to any other idea.
Posted by studentathletechristian8 8 years ago
studentathletechristian8
Oh, I understand your viewpoint. I looked at the resolution differently.
Posted by Logical-Master 8 years ago
Logical-Master
Sure thing.

The point I was making in my last post was that the topic is to be understood as which practice is performed more frequently. I base this on its usage of the term "tend."

For instance, if you said "I tend to make A's on my highschool class exams", this statement wouldn't be suggesting that you always make "A's" on your highschool exams, but that you only make "A's" most of the time.

To that extent, when PRO says that we tend to develop our own independent ideas, what she is saying is that we develop our own independent ideas most of the time yet accept the opinions of others sometimes (as in, far less frequently).
Posted by studentathletechristian8 8 years ago
studentathletechristian8
Could you explain your last post, L-M?
Posted by studentathletechristian8 8 years ago
studentathletechristian8
That's cool. I interpreted the resolution one way, while you interpreted it another. That usually happens when The Instigator does not specify the resolution. I am not blaming my opponent, I simply mean that it causes confusion among the debaters and the readers when the resolution is not explained in the opening round.
4 votes have been placed for this debate. Showing 1 through 4 records.
Vote Placed by Lexicaholic 8 years ago
Lexicaholic
cheeryy_cakestudentathletechristian8Tied
Agreed with before the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Agreed with after the debate:-Vote Checkmark-0 points
Who had better conduct:-Vote Checkmark-1 point
Had better spelling and grammar:-Vote Checkmark-1 point
Made more convincing arguments:-Vote Checkmark-3 points
Used the most reliable sources:-Vote Checkmark-2 points
Total points awarded:07 
Vote Placed by Rezzealaux 8 years ago
Rezzealaux
cheeryy_cakestudentathletechristian8Tied
Agreed with before the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Agreed with after the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Who had better conduct:-Vote Checkmark-1 point
Had better spelling and grammar:-Vote Checkmark-1 point
Made more convincing arguments:-Vote Checkmark-3 points
Used the most reliable sources:--Vote Checkmark2 points
Total points awarded:05 
Vote Placed by mongeese 8 years ago
mongeese
cheeryy_cakestudentathletechristian8Tied
Agreed with before the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Agreed with after the debate:-Vote Checkmark-0 points
Who had better conduct:-Vote Checkmark-1 point
Had better spelling and grammar:-Vote Checkmark-1 point
Made more convincing arguments:-Vote Checkmark-3 points
Used the most reliable sources:--Vote Checkmark2 points
Total points awarded:05 
Vote Placed by Lifeisgood 8 years ago
Lifeisgood
cheeryy_cakestudentathletechristian8Tied
Agreed with before the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Agreed with after the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Who had better conduct:-Vote Checkmark-1 point
Had better spelling and grammar:-Vote Checkmark-1 point
Made more convincing arguments:-Vote Checkmark-3 points
Used the most reliable sources:--Vote Checkmark2 points
Total points awarded:05