The Instigator
sophisticatedhonesty
Con (against)
Losing
1 Points
The Contender
bladerunner060
Pro (for)
Winning
34 Points

Should a Child in school have to censor his/her opinion on homosexuality and accept criticized

Do you like this debate?NoYes+1
Add this debate to Google Add this debate to Delicious Add this debate to FaceBook Add this debate to Digg  
Post Voting Period
The voting period for this debate has ended.
after 7 votes the winner is...
bladerunner060
Voting Style: Open Point System: 7 Point
Started: 1/9/2013 Category: Education
Updated: 4 years ago Status: Post Voting Period
Viewed: 683 times Debate No: 29029
Debate Rounds (4)
Comments (7)
Votes (7)

 

sophisticatedhonesty

Con

I do not think that a child should have to accept a gay persons view because since the whole outbreak of homosexuality has begun I have not only been criticized but disciplined for my opinion. I say if you are going to fight for something don't cry when someone is against it, that's life deal with it and it is also offensive when a gay person trays to "hallo" at a strait person and suddenly becomes offended by rejection but they do the same thing when a person of the opposite sex approaches them.
bladerunner060

Pro


Thank you to my opponent for issuing this challenge.



I accept.



I will be taking Pro, that is, that a child in school should, in certain circumstances, have to “censor his/her opinion”, and should accept criticism.



I'll use the first To clarify a few things right off the bat:



My position on the subject of criticism shall be that any opinion a child in school expresses is subject to the marketplace of ideas. Particularly in a learning setting, where children can be presumed to not have a full appreciation or understanding of certain subjects, and therefore may have a wildly fallacious view on a subject. Certainly they should be subject to their peers expressing their own opinion on their opinion; as regards to teachers, well, it is a teacher's place to teach kids how to critically think. If, for example, a student says “I hate gays because of the bible; they should be illegal because the bible says it's immoral”, I expect a teacher to explain the principles of the first amendment.



My position on the subject of discipline shall be that, while no student should be disciplined solely for their opinion, at the same time they may need to censor it to avoid expressing it in a disruptive manner. “F$@#@king f@gs must die” is not appropriate in a school setting. My opponent would need to source circumstances where students actually were disciplined purely for their opinion and not their manner of expression if that is a point he wants to make.



Thank you, and I look forward to a spirited debate!


Debate Round No. 1
sophisticatedhonesty

Con

sophisticatedhonesty forfeited this round.
bladerunner060

Pro

I apologize to the readers for the formatting errors and typos in the last resposne; I had to leave the computer quickly, and with the short round time my opponent has established for thei debate, I wanted to ensure I posted my response in case I didn't get back in time.

That was supposed to say
"I'll use the first round to clarify a few things right off the bat"
not
"I'll use the first To clarify a few things right off the bat

Con has not posted any arguments yet, so I have nothing to rebut. I believe my position stands on its own, and hope my opponent makes his case next round!
Debate Round No. 2
sophisticatedhonesty

Con

sophisticatedhonesty forfeited this round.
bladerunner060

Pro

My opponent has yet to make a case.
Debate Round No. 3
sophisticatedhonesty

Con

sophisticatedhonesty forfeited this round.
bladerunner060

Pro

My opponent has, unfortunately, forfeited. A shame; I had hoped that there would be some back and forth on the subject at least. I guess I will reiterated that I feel my opening still stands.

Vote Pro!
Debate Round No. 4
7 comments have been posted on this debate. Showing 1 through 7 records.
Posted by sophisticatedhonesty 4 years ago
sophisticatedhonesty
fair i accept my defeat
Posted by bladerunner060 4 years ago
bladerunner060
Respect, though, for differing opinions does not go as far as allowing perceived poor reasoning to go unchecked. There is a difference between the freedom to express an opinion and the freedom to do so UNCRITICIZED. You posited that you shouldn't have to accept criticism for your belief; that is not fair of you. If you can criticize their beliefs, they can criticize yours.

And yes, you forfeited. You failed to show up for the debate. Just because you don't LIKE that it was a forfeit, doesn't make it less of one. I'm sorry you were denied internet access, but that is not your opponent's (my) fault.
Posted by sophisticatedhonesty 4 years ago
sophisticatedhonesty
well first off i did not forfeit i was denied internet access and it is done with gay people should show the same respect they want ...
Posted by bladerunner060 4 years ago
bladerunner060
You did say that. And I addressed it when I pointed out that an opinion does not warrant protection from the marketplace of ideas. If you think, for example, that gays are evil because all gays are Nazis who want to exterminate the Jewish people, then your opinion is grounded on, frankly, stupidity, and you shouldn't be surprised when it is pointed out as such. Unfortunately, you never expanded yourself or made any further points because you forfeited.
Posted by sophisticatedhonesty 4 years ago
sophisticatedhonesty
well i did not say that my stance on the case is that a child should announce his/her opinion openly but the gay person should show the same respect that they expect the strait person tho show...
Posted by bladerunner060 4 years ago
bladerunner060
Lal36, can you explain your reasoning for giving S&G to Con (a opposed to tie), when Con only posted one argument, which had both grammar and spelling problems? I grant, my typing missed my usual standards, but it seems a double standard.
Posted by Jessalyn 4 years ago
Jessalyn
What, specifically, would pro be arguing in this debate?
7 votes have been placed for this debate. Showing 1 through 7 records.
Vote Placed by GarretKadeDupre 4 years ago
GarretKadeDupre
sophisticatedhonestybladerunner060Tied
Agreed with before the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Agreed with after the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Who had better conduct:-Vote Checkmark-1 point
Had better spelling and grammar:-Vote Checkmark-1 point
Made more convincing arguments:-Vote Checkmark-3 points
Used the most reliable sources:-Vote Checkmark-2 points
Total points awarded:07 
Reasons for voting decision: [Enemy vote-nuke incoming!] 10... 9... 8... 7... 6... 5... 4... 3... 2... 1... WHOOOOOOSHHHHHH! Game Over. [Score] [sophisticatedhonesty: 0 KILLS 0 ASSISTS 4 DEATHS] [bladerunner060: 4 KILLS 0 ASSISTS 0 DEATHS] Autosave in progress, please wait... Save complete. Returning to Main Menu...
Vote Placed by Ike-Jin-Park 4 years ago
Ike-Jin-Park
sophisticatedhonestybladerunner060Tied
Agreed with before the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Agreed with after the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Who had better conduct:-Vote Checkmark-1 point
Had better spelling and grammar:-Vote Checkmark-1 point
Made more convincing arguments:-Vote Checkmark-3 points
Used the most reliable sources:-Vote Checkmark-2 points
Total points awarded:07 
Reasons for voting decision: FF. I am really saddened to see so many people forfeit their rounds after the first.
Vote Placed by DoctorDeku 4 years ago
DoctorDeku
sophisticatedhonestybladerunner060Tied
Agreed with before the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Agreed with after the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Who had better conduct:-Vote Checkmark-1 point
Had better spelling and grammar:-Vote Checkmark-1 point
Made more convincing arguments:-Vote Checkmark-3 points
Used the most reliable sources:-Vote Checkmark-2 points
Total points awarded:07 
Reasons for voting decision: Forfeit :P
Vote Placed by Clash 4 years ago
Clash
sophisticatedhonestybladerunner060Tied
Agreed with before the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Agreed with after the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Who had better conduct:-Vote Checkmark-1 point
Had better spelling and grammar:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Made more convincing arguments:-Vote Checkmark-3 points
Used the most reliable sources:--Vote Checkmark2 points
Total points awarded:04 
Reasons for voting decision: Full forfeit.
Vote Placed by 1Devilsadvocate 4 years ago
1Devilsadvocate
sophisticatedhonestybladerunner060Tied
Agreed with before the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Agreed with after the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Who had better conduct:-Vote Checkmark-1 point
Had better spelling and grammar:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Made more convincing arguments:-Vote Checkmark-3 points
Used the most reliable sources:--Vote Checkmark2 points
Total points awarded:04 
Reasons for voting decision: F.F.
Vote Placed by likespeace 4 years ago
likespeace
sophisticatedhonestybladerunner060Tied
Agreed with before the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Agreed with after the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Who had better conduct:-Vote Checkmark-1 point
Had better spelling and grammar:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Made more convincing arguments:-Vote Checkmark-3 points
Used the most reliable sources:--Vote Checkmark2 points
Total points awarded:04 
Reasons for voting decision: Con forfeits, and therefore Pro walks away with conduct points. Also, Con failed to meet the burden of proof as instigator of this argument. Pro has the only standing arguments--e.g., sometimes students' speech should be limited so as not to disrupt others. Good or bad, those win by default!
Vote Placed by LaL36 4 years ago
LaL36
sophisticatedhonestybladerunner060Tied
Agreed with before the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Agreed with after the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Who had better conduct:-Vote Checkmark-1 point
Had better spelling and grammar:Vote Checkmark--1 point
Made more convincing arguments:--Vote Checkmark3 points
Used the most reliable sources:--Vote Checkmark2 points
Total points awarded:11 
Reasons for voting decision: Forfeit for conduct but spelling errors by pro.