The Instigator
braystonian
Pro (for)
Losing
0 Points
The Contender
Yraelz
Con (against)
Winning
48 Points

Terrorism is an opinion.

Do you like this debate?NoYes+0
Add this debate to Google Add this debate to Delicious Add this debate to FaceBook Add this debate to Digg  
Vote Here
Pro Tied Con
Who did you agree with before the debate?
Who did you agree with after the debate?
Who had better conduct?
Who had better spelling and grammar?
Who made more convincing arguments?
Who used the most reliable sources?
Reasons for your voting decision
1,000 Characters Remaining
The voting period for this debate does not end.
Voting Style: Open Point System: 7 Point
Started: 2/3/2008 Category: Society
Updated: 9 years ago Status: Voting Period
Viewed: 2,450 times Debate No: 2386
Debate Rounds (3)
Comments (12)
Votes (16)

 

braystonian

Pro

Terrorism is a point of view. Someone asked the question "is one mans terrorist another mans freedom fighter?".
Yraelz

Con

Well I have no idea what-so-ever why you decided to challenge me of all people to a debate. Especially on an issue such as this. But hey I'll go for it anyways.

Your case, and point is that terrorism is a point of view. I would like to disagree with you. Terrorism is a noun and can easily be defined but is never a point of view. Nouns are not points of view, examples:

Cat
Bed
T.V
Politician
Milk
War
Death
Mom
Christmas
Terrorism

As you can see none of those are an opinion or point of view. You can take points of view or opinions on issues regarding them. For examples:

Cats are nice.
Beds are warm.
T.Vs are real.
Politicians are corrupt.
Milk is magnificent.
War is good.
Death is bad.
Moms are generally cool people.
Christmas is my favorite holiday.
People who employ terrorism are terrorists but can be considered freedom fighters by some.

These can all be seen to be opinions on matters. Each sentence involves the noun, and also a verb + adjective. This creates an opinion.

Terrorism in itself is not an opinion. It is simply defined:
1. The use of violence and threats to intimidate or coerce, esp. for political purposes.

Anyone who uses such means is employing terrorism. This may make them a terrorist. Which is defined as:
2. a person, usually a member of a group, who uses or advocates terrorism.

A terrorist however is not an opinion. One must add an adjective and verb to employ the word terrorist into an opinion.

"One man's terrorist is another man's freedom fighter"

This is an opinion. However if we look at this sentence it says "one man's terrorist" to be a terrorist that man must advocate terrorism in some way. Which means even if the person is another mans freedom fighter he is still advocating terrorism to someone. Thus he is still employing the noun terrorism to fight for freedom. Thus terrorism is still.... not an opinion.
Debate Round No. 1
braystonian

Pro

Clerly the word is not a noun then. Where did oyur definition come from? I am refering to the general useage of the word when it is often attributed with words such as murder.
Yraelz

Con

Ummm....

The word is terrorism. The ism on the end signifies that it is a noun.

Terrorism.
Patriotism.
Capitalism.
Communism.
Marxism.

I pulled my definition from Dictionary.com (common knowledge) but just to humor me I also just went and got my Kingfisher dictionary which lists Terrorism once again as a noun.

On your last point...

"I am refering to the general useage of the word when it is often attributed with words such as murder."

>>Terrorism can be done through murder but it can also be done through other means. The only real mandate of terrorism is that it intimidates someone into doing something you want. Terrorism breads terror, thus the name. Therefor terrorism can be anything that creates terror.
Debate Round No. 2
braystonian

Pro

But then war is the exact sameas terrorism. This the negates the need for the word as it has a clear opinion behind it when people use it.
Yraelz

Con

=)

I will go point by point on your arguments.

"But then war is the exact sameas terrorism."

>>Yes, they are both words, they are both nouns. They are not an opinion, they are a thing. How do you opinion the word war?

"This the negates the need for the word as it has a clear opinion behind it when people use it."

>>First off both the words, War and Terrorism, contain no opinion behind them. When someone walks up to me and says, "War." or "Terrorism" I since no hidden opinion behind such words. Should someone walk up and say, "The war in Afghanistan", then I can formulate my own opinion if I desire. I cannot however voice any opinion through the single word, "Terrorism". I can perhaps form an opinion on the idea of terrorism, but terrorism itself is not my opinion or an opinion at all.

Terrorism = Noun.
Debate Round No. 3
12 comments have been posted on this debate. Showing 1 through 10 records.
Posted by sadolite 9 years ago
sadolite
I think we should ask Richard Pearl this Question.
Posted by Ristaag 9 years ago
Ristaag
Agree with pro (within certain instances), but voted for con for obvious reasons.
Posted by Defenestrator 9 years ago
Defenestrator
ah, I thought that I had seen the name before, but I guess I didn't, I was on Hades, Quetzalcoatl and Cerberus, saw a lot of names, thought i remembered yours. Good debate tho, when I get some free time (I'm gonna need a good chunk of it to have any chance) I'll challenge you.
Posted by Yraelz 9 years ago
Yraelz
Diabolos I believe was the name. I still have the game running, I just don't use it very often. Have other slightly more interesting things I enjoy attempting to get done in real life. Parkour! FTW!
Posted by Defenestrator 9 years ago
Defenestrator
wait a sec, which FFXI server were u on?
Posted by Yraelz 9 years ago
Yraelz
I used to play Starcraft and DiabloII with an account named Yrael at one point. The name is more from when I played FFXI for 3 years. =)
Posted by Mangani 9 years ago
Mangani
Braystonian, I think you were trying to debate something without knowing how to express yourself. It seems you were trying to make the premise that "terrorism is a tactic, and not an ideology" or something similar.

Terrorism is in fact a noun (person, place, thing, or idea) as "tactics", isms, and other non-palpable bodies of thought generally fall under the term "idea". I doubt you meant for this debate to be a grammar lesson, but that is the problem with this website, and people not knowing how to state a premise for a debate- let alone execute a debate in educated fashion. I am not attacking your intelligence for this mistake, rather emphasizing the need to actually think about what you are saying, how you say it, and how people will interpret it before you type it.
Posted by fresnoinvasion 9 years ago
fresnoinvasion
Yraelz,
do you have a battle.net diablo II account? haha, i think i remember someone with that same name.
but i might be wrong.
Posted by Defenestrator 9 years ago
Defenestrator
Another good debate Yraelz.
Posted by Yraelz 9 years ago
Yraelz
Haha, I like how you worded that comment Logical-master. Perhaps my profile lies!
16 votes have been placed for this debate. Showing 1 through 10 records.
Vote Placed by THEmanlyDEBATER3 8 years ago
THEmanlyDEBATER3
braystonianYraelzTied
Agreed with before the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Agreed with after the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Who had better conduct:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Had better spelling and grammar:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Made more convincing arguments:-Vote Checkmark-3 points
Used the most reliable sources:--Vote Checkmark2 points
Total points awarded:03 
Vote Placed by sadolite 9 years ago
sadolite
braystonianYraelzTied
Agreed with before the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Agreed with after the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Who had better conduct:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Had better spelling and grammar:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Made more convincing arguments:-Vote Checkmark-3 points
Used the most reliable sources:--Vote Checkmark2 points
Total points awarded:03 
Vote Placed by padfo0t 9 years ago
padfo0t
braystonianYraelzTied
Agreed with before the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Agreed with after the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Who had better conduct:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Had better spelling and grammar:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Made more convincing arguments:-Vote Checkmark-3 points
Used the most reliable sources:--Vote Checkmark2 points
Total points awarded:03 
Vote Placed by Ristaag 9 years ago
Ristaag
braystonianYraelzTied
Agreed with before the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Agreed with after the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Who had better conduct:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Had better spelling and grammar:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Made more convincing arguments:-Vote Checkmark-3 points
Used the most reliable sources:--Vote Checkmark2 points
Total points awarded:03 
Vote Placed by Phyfe2112 9 years ago
Phyfe2112
braystonianYraelzTied
Agreed with before the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Agreed with after the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Who had better conduct:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Had better spelling and grammar:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Made more convincing arguments:-Vote Checkmark-3 points
Used the most reliable sources:--Vote Checkmark2 points
Total points awarded:03 
Vote Placed by kels1123 9 years ago
kels1123
braystonianYraelzTied
Agreed with before the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Agreed with after the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Who had better conduct:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Had better spelling and grammar:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Made more convincing arguments:-Vote Checkmark-3 points
Used the most reliable sources:--Vote Checkmark2 points
Total points awarded:03 
Vote Placed by goldspurs 9 years ago
goldspurs
braystonianYraelzTied
Agreed with before the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Agreed with after the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Who had better conduct:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Had better spelling and grammar:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Made more convincing arguments:-Vote Checkmark-3 points
Used the most reliable sources:--Vote Checkmark2 points
Total points awarded:03 
Vote Placed by brittwaller 9 years ago
brittwaller
braystonianYraelzTied
Agreed with before the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Agreed with after the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Who had better conduct:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Had better spelling and grammar:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Made more convincing arguments:-Vote Checkmark-3 points
Used the most reliable sources:--Vote Checkmark2 points
Total points awarded:03 
Vote Placed by LandonWalsh 9 years ago
LandonWalsh
braystonianYraelzTied
Agreed with before the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Agreed with after the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Who had better conduct:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Had better spelling and grammar:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Made more convincing arguments:-Vote Checkmark-3 points
Used the most reliable sources:--Vote Checkmark2 points
Total points awarded:03 
Vote Placed by Mangani 9 years ago
Mangani
braystonianYraelzTied
Agreed with before the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Agreed with after the debate:--Vote Checkmark0 points
Who had better conduct:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Had better spelling and grammar:--Vote Checkmark1 point
Made more convincing arguments:-Vote Checkmark-3 points
Used the most reliable sources:--Vote Checkmark2 points
Total points awarded:03