Jump to topic:

Does an Art degree make you an artist?

Playitagainsam
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/4/2011 10:32:44 AM
Posted: 5 years ago
During my career as an artist, I have met many talented artists with and without a degree in Art. Yet, in some circles, the idea continues to persist than one cannot possibly be a "true" professional in the arts without possessing that all-important university degree, (and the higher, the better). Is this what makes one an artist? Or does it simply mean that one has (perhaps) learned more techniques for making art? Does art come from one's mind and soul, or from the teachings of a university, or must they come from both? Finally, do you think that judgments made about the value of someone's art based solely upon whether they have a degree (or not) in Art are fair?
000ike
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/4/2011 11:01:12 AM
yes. A dirty bathtub, a camera, and access to a publishing company also makes you an artist.
"A stupid despot may constrain his slaves with iron chains; but a true politician binds them even more strongly with the chain of their own ideas" - Michel Foucault
CosmicAlfonzo
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/4/2011 11:10:16 AM
You do not need a degree in art to be an artist.

The people who think otherwise are being pretentious fuckwads, probably because of all the money they've invested into their precious little piece of paper.

If you go through all that schooling, and spend all that money, you are going to feel the need to raise your nose at people.
Official "High Priest of Secular Affairs and Transient Distributor of Sonic Apple Seeds relating to the Reptilian Division of Paperwork Immoliation" of The FREEDO Bureaucracy, a DDO branch of the Erisian Front, a subdivision of the Discordian Back, a Limb of the Illuminatian Cosmic Utensil Corp
Playitagainsam
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/4/2011 11:10:21 AM