Jump to topic:

Classical music

Frederick53
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/6/2012 6:50:00 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
Although I'm very open to different varieties of music, 90% or so of my favorite music is rock and roll from 1964-1978. I have only ever heard one piece of classical music that has had the same euphoric effect on me as, say, a song by Pink Floyd or The Doors or Cream has.

I'd really love to know, why does this one song captivate me so much when otherwise I invariably go with psychodelich/progressive rock? Music theory must really be fascinating.
In 1975, the Second Vietnam War began -1Historygenius

Like no wonder that indian dude rejected you.- Darkkermit to royalpaladin

Social Darwinism is a justification- 1Historygenius

Equal opportunity exists, so there is no problem- EvanK
OneElephant
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/6/2012 11:18:19 PM
While I am no expert on the topic, I doubt there's a specific theoretical explanation for why you prefer one particular piece over another. There are many possible reason's outside of theory though; for example, it might be because of a personal connection you feel to the music or something sentimental along those lines. Another likely reason is that you might just not have enough exposure to a particular genre. If you haven't heard of it already, you might want to try Rach 2, I've been watching the master classes for Rach 3 and it came to mind. It's a piano concerto though, so it's quite a bit more hectic than the piece you posted.
Godsconservativegirl
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/15/2012 12:57:45 PM
I love classical music
"John 3:16 For God so Loved the world that he gave his only begotten son, that whosoever believeth on him shall not perish, but shall have ever lasting life."

God'sconservativegirl :)
1dustpelt
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/15/2012 2:38:02 PM
Wall of LOL