Jump to topic:

My recent writing experiences.

Jack212
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/17/2014 10:21:08 PM
Posted: 2 years ago
I've been writing a series of fantasy novels for the last 6 years, and have repeatedly had to change the characters, plot, themes, etc, because they didn't work. A week ago I realised that the basic premise of the first book was flawed, and I had to abandon the thing entirely.

So I was sitting in my room, feeling really depressed. Suicidal, actually. I reflected on all the sh*t I've done wrong in my life, all the times I've failed, all the girls I should/shouldn't have screwed, all the fights I should/shouldn't have picked, and all the crippling psychological problems that my therapist seems completely oblivious to.

And I started writing about it.

Most writing how-to's will tell you to draw up a detailed outline of your plot first. I didn't. Here are the steps I took:

1. Remember the screwed-up relationship I had last year (this is the main interpersonal conflict of the book).

2. Define the main characters and the nature their relationships (happy, dysfunctional, romantic, familial, etc.).

3. Do a Mary-Sue test to make sure the characters are realistic ( http://www.springhole.net... ).

4. Write about the screwed-up relationship, and stick as close to reality as possible. Say the sh*t I wish I'd said, exaggerate the sh*t that happened, and write in the direction that I want my life to take. If there's a tangent or backstory that needs exploring, take an event from school or life and blow it up into something big.

Results after 1 week:

9 chapters,
11,000 words,
1 screwed-up protagonist with all of my dark and toxic insecurities floating around in his head,
a story that is so fun to write that I consider sleeping an interruption,
and a plot that is believable.

Plans for 2 weeks (from start):

15 chapters,
20,000 words,
my protagonist starts to sort out my issues for me,