Jump to topic:

Need tips for writing a fanfic.

Wylted
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/27/2014 9:12:14 PM
Posted: 2 years ago
I suck at writing, but would enjoy A limited series, fanfic. What advise does everyone who has done a fanfic here have?
Windwalker
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/29/2014 1:00:22 AM
At 7/27/2014 9:12:14 PM, Wylted wrote:
I suck at writing, but would enjoy A limited series, fanfic. What advise does everyone who has done a fanfic here have?

Well, I can't say that I have done an actual fanfic, but I am a writer (three novel-size stories finished, two of which are fully edited- whoohoo!) and I might have some decent advice. First of all, what do you love about the franchise so much? In a nutshell, what inspires your fanfic? That may sound broad and subjective, but if you really study the source material you will begin to see things as detailed as specific words that are often used, and as sweeping as the prevailing tone and the atmosphere/setting's general structure. Take the things that are specific to this franchise that you love, and include them as faithfully as possible.

Most important of all are the characters. Study them hard, and ask yourself questions about what X would say if A said that; or what X would do first after the apocalypse. If you can't answer questions like that quickly and confidently, you don't know your characters well enough to write about them. But once you do understand the characters, they will "refuse" to do things that are out of character and will help guide the story.