Jump to topic:

DDO Appreciation Thread

ApostateAbe
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/26/2011 8:32:36 PM
Posted: 5 years ago
I am kinda new to DDO, and I am not sure what it was like before--apparently, a few people complained that DDO somehow got worse, and they left.

Well, I am glad that I found about DDO.

Everywhere else on the Internet, people sequester themselves into groups of other people who think alike. You find a forum or a chat room or a political blog where everyone has the same opinions, and you have a prejudiced filter of outside information and an echo chamber, where "us" develops increasingly-negative opinions of "them."

Here, everyone has maximal interaction with people who think starkly different. Further, we tend to judge each other, not according to the alignment of another's opinions with our own, but according to friendliness of behavior.

We learn that "they" are not so bad, and "they" are actually "we."

This is what the Internet should be for.

I love DDO.
ApostateAbe
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/26/2011 9:06:21 PM
At 7/26/2011 8:46:05 PM, FREEDO wrote:
THANK YOU Abe! I share your love of DDO. Haters can suck a fvck.

That was ironic, given my speech, but let's just say you meant it that way. :-P
jat93
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/26/2011 9:12:21 PM
At 7/26/2011 8:32:36 PM, ApostateAbe wrote:
I am kinda new to DDO, and I am not sure what it was like before--apparently, a few people complained that DDO somehow got worse, and they left.

Everywhere else on the Internet, people sequester themselves into groups of other people who think alike. You find a forum or a chat room or a political blog where everyone has the same opinions, and you have a prejudiced filter of outside information and an echo chamber, where "us" develops increasingly-negative opinions of "them."