Jump to topic:

On The Skill of Debate

Lickdafoot
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/30/2011 10:47:10 AM
Posted: 5 years ago
This is a great place to learn! I'm still very new to debating and i think it would be a good idea to start a thread for questions that can be asked to the more experienced debaters.

Here are a few that i'd like opinions on:

Put the strongest point first or save for last?

Is personal experience acceptable to use to support a claim?

Is it necessary to name the fallacy someone uses or is the explanation of error sufficient on its own?

Say you have a point that is slightly weak but could be a turning point if the opponent doesn't rebut it. put it up and take the chance or no?

Any special tips you might have for a beginner?

WAKE UP AND READ THIS: http://www.debate.org...
OMGJustinBieber
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/30/2011 10:57:55 AM
I'm hardly a master debater but:

At 7/30/2011 10:47:10 AM, Lickdafoot wrote:
This is a great place to learn! I'm still very new to debating and i think it would be a good idea to start a thread for questions that can be asked to the more experienced debaters.

I don't really think it matters, but I wouldn't put it in the middle.
Usually not.
Is it necessary to name the fallacy someone uses or is the explanation of error sufficient on its own?
I think either is fine, but if you can attribute the direct fallacy it's a little stronger because it differentiates itself from just an objection. Be careful, though, because when you do this the debate often becomes a little less civil and your opponent could start ramping things up. There are different ways to handle it depending on the nature of the debate.
Say you have a point that is slightly weak but could be a turning point if the opponent doesn't rebut it. put it up and take the chance or no?
Don't put up straw men. You should be prepared to go all the way with your points.