Total Posts:20|Showing Posts:1-20
Jump to topic:

DDO Freezes

tkubok
Posts: 5,044
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/10/2012 10:33:42 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
This is annoying. DDO keeps freezing on me. Its just the DDO Tabs, too, the rest of my Firefox tabs are unaffected. Its not my internet. Its not firefox(Tried it on chrome, failed too).

Does anyone have a fix, or atleast know what the problem is?
phantom
Posts: 6,774
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/10/2012 10:42:00 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
Same thing happens to me.
Also often I can't even get onto the website. Everything else works fine but when I try to get on ddo it just takes forever to load then says connections has timed out try again.
"Music is a zen-like ecstatic state where you become the new man of the future, the Nietzschean merger of Apollo and Dionysus." Ray Manzarek (The Doors)
Maikuru
Posts: 9,112
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/10/2012 11:35:47 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
That stopped happening to me when I switched to Google Chrome.
"You assume I wouldn't want to burn this whole place to the ground."
- lamerde

https://i.imgflip.com...
Korashk
Posts: 4,597
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/10/2012 12:27:46 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 1/10/2012 10:33:42 AM, tkubok wrote:
This is annoying. DDO keeps freezing on me. Its just the DDO Tabs, too, the rest of my Firefox tabs are unaffected. Its not my internet. Its not firefox(Tried it on chrome, failed too).

Does anyone have a fix, or atleast know what the problem is?

It's been happening to me ever since I joined this site. How long do your freezes last? Mine are only for a few seconds, so it doesn't really bother me. I'm using Opera.
When large numbers of otherwise-law abiding people break specific laws en masse, it's usually a fault that lies with the law. - Unknown
000ike
Posts: 11,196
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/10/2012 2:25:31 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 1/10/2012 11:35:47 AM, Maikuru wrote:
That stopped happening to me when I switched to Google Chrome.

I'm on chrome always and it still happens. The worst part is when I'm writing a response to a comment in the forums and the whole site just freezes, and I can't type anything, I have to wait about a minute before the little typing line starts blinking again.
"A stupid despot may constrain his slaves with iron chains; but a true politician binds them even more strongly with the chain of their own ideas" - Michel Foucault
Chrysippus
Posts: 2,173
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/10/2012 3:22:30 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 1/10/2012 2:25:31 PM, 000ike wrote:
At 1/10/2012 11:35:47 AM, Maikuru wrote:
That stopped happening to me when I switched to Google Chrome.

I'm on chrome always and it still happens. The worst part is when I'm writing a response to a comment in the forums and the whole site just freezes, and I can't type anything, I have to wait about a minute before the little typing line starts blinking again.

That happens to me all the time, too; but I always blame it on our internet connection.
Cavete mea inexorabilis legiones mimus!
OberHerr
Posts: 13,062
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/10/2012 5:43:16 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
That happens to me a lot as well. Just click refresh, and it works fine.
-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-OBERHERR'S SIGNATURE-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-

Official Enforcer for the DDO Elite(if they existed).

"Cases are anti-town." - FourTrouble

-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-
16kadams
Posts: 10,497
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/10/2012 11:20:17 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
only when I make arguments does it freeze.
https://www.youtube.com...
https://rekonomics.wordpress.com...
"A trend is a trend, but the question is, will it bend? Will it alter its course through some unforeseen force and come to a premature end?" -- Alec Cairncross
JustCallMeTarzan
Posts: 1,922
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/11/2012 3:08:35 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
I would assume it has something to do with the fact that DDO caches your text as your type it every like 10-15 secs or so (I didn't look at exactly how often).

Also, it looks like the default JS methods here escape html chars like '<' on the fly as you type them. That, coupled with the char count and caching...

I would guess that the delays occur when there is a mismatch between current and cached page content - i.e. it caches, then escapes an html char, and then recaches and is like oh crap. So we have to wait x number of cache cycles till it matches??

Just kind of spewing pennies here...
PeacefulChaos
Posts: 2,610
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/12/2012 2:50:55 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 1/11/2012 12:46:18 AM, vmpire321 wrote:
At 1/10/2012 11:20:17 PM, 16kadams wrote:
only when I make arguments does it freeze.

DDO be trolling.

Lol, you mad bro?

http://images.google.com...
wierdman
Posts: 721
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/12/2012 3:17:50 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 1/10/2012 10:33:42 AM, tkubok wrote:
This is annoying. DDO keeps freezing on me. Its just the DDO Tabs, too, the rest of my Firefox tabs are unaffected. Its not my internet. Its not firefox(Tried it on chrome, failed too).

Does anyone have a fix, or atleast know what the problem is?

Weird, It never happens to me.
OberHerr
Posts: 13,062
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/12/2012 3:19:02 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 1/12/2012 3:17:50 PM, wierdman wrote:
At 1/10/2012 10:33:42 AM, tkubok wrote:
This is annoying. DDO keeps freezing on me. Its just the DDO Tabs, too, the rest of my Firefox tabs are unaffected. Its not my internet. Its not firefox(Tried it on chrome, failed too).

Does anyone have a fix, or atleast know what the problem is?

Weird, It never happens to me.

Well, you are a weird man! XD
-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-OBERHERR'S SIGNATURE-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-

Official Enforcer for the DDO Elite(if they existed).

"Cases are anti-town." - FourTrouble

-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-
wierdman
Posts: 721
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/12/2012 3:19:37 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 1/12/2012 3:19:02 PM, OberHerr wrote:
At 1/12/2012 3:17:50 PM, wierdman wrote:
At 1/10/2012 10:33:42 AM, tkubok wrote:
This is annoying. DDO keeps freezing on me. Its just the DDO Tabs, too, the rest of my Firefox tabs are unaffected. Its not my internet. Its not firefox(Tried it on chrome, failed too).

Does anyone have a fix, or atleast know what the problem is?

Weird, It never happens to me.

Well, you are a weird man! XD

Lol, nice
PeacefulChaos
Posts: 2,610
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/12/2012 5:22:06 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 1/12/2012 3:19:02 PM, OberHerr wrote:
At 1/12/2012 3:17:50 PM, wierdman wrote:
At 1/10/2012 10:33:42 AM, tkubok wrote:
This is annoying. DDO keeps freezing on me. Its just the DDO Tabs, too, the rest of my Firefox tabs are unaffected. Its not my internet. Its not firefox(Tried it on chrome, failed too).

Does anyone have a fix, or atleast know what the problem is?

Weird, It never happens to me.

Well, you are a weird man! XD

He is the weird man.
rusack
Posts: 1
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/19/2015 10:37:50 PM
Posted: 1 year ago
real fix for ddo and other games that get stuck at say 33% update , this worked for me and i think you'll agree its prob the best solution to the problem.

control panel - windows firewall -advanced settings - inbound rules .

all i did was find Dungeons & Dragons Online in inbound list .
i had 4 in inbound list - double click on them go to advanced tab - what you need to change is edge traversal to -
"allow edge traversal"

you can see that it will now go through the nat edge blocker , which seems to me to always the problem for me when your trying to update anything .

cheers and i hope this helps you .
RevNge
Posts: 13,835
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/19/2015 10:40:32 PM
Posted: 1 year ago
At 1/19/2015 10:37:50 PM, rusack wrote:
real fix for ddo and other games that get stuck at say 33% update , this worked for me and i think you'll agree its prob the best solution to the problem.

control panel - windows firewall -advanced settings - inbound rules .


all i did was find Dungeons & Dragons Online in inbound list .
i had 4 in inbound list - double click on them go to advanced tab - what you need to change is edge traversal to -
"allow edge traversal"

you can see that it will now go through the nat edge blocker , which seems to me to always the problem for me when your trying to update anything .

cheers and i hope this helps you .

You must be sh1tting me...the spambots figured out how to post in other threads? >.>
1harderthanyouthink
Posts: 13,102
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/19/2015 10:46:14 PM
Posted: 1 year ago
At 1/19/2015 10:40:32 PM, RevNge wrote:
At 1/19/2015 10:37:50 PM, rusack wrote:
real fix for ddo and other games that get stuck at say 33% update , this worked for me and i think you'll agree its prob the best solution to the problem.

control panel - windows firewall -advanced settings - inbound rules .


all i did was find Dungeons & Dragons Online in inbound list .
i had 4 in inbound list - double click on them go to advanced tab - what you need to change is edge traversal to -
"allow edge traversal"

you can see that it will now go through the nat edge blocker , which seems to me to always the problem for me when your trying to update anything .

cheers and i hope this helps you .

You must be sh1tting me...the spambots figured out how to post in other threads? >.>

And they necropost too...
"It's awfully considerate of you to think of me here,
And I'm much obliged to you for making it clear - that I'm not here."

-Syd Barrett

DDO Risk King
fazz
Posts: 1,617
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/23/2015 11:17:23 AM
Posted: 1 year ago
At 1/19/2015 10:40:32 PM, RevNge wrote:
At 1/19/2015 10:37:50 PM, rusack wrote:
real fix for ddo and other games that get stuck at say 33% update , this worked for me and i think you'll agree its prob the best solution to the problem.

control panel - windows firewall -advanced settings - inbound rules .


all i did was find Dungeons & Dragons Online in inbound list .
i had 4 in inbound list - double click on them go to advanced tab - what you need to change is edge traversal to -
"allow edge traversal"

you can see that it will now go through the nat edge blocker , which seems to me to always the problem for me when your trying to update anything .

cheers and i hope this helps you .

You must be sh1tting me...the spambots figured out how to post in other threads? >.>

That's not a spambot. More like pun-bot.