Jump to topic:

Another candidate for President

medic0506
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
5/20/2012 11:13:11 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
I'm officially announcing that I'd like to be considered for DDO President. I have talked to Greyparrot, and he has agreed to be my running mate. I guess we would be running as the Old Fart Party candidates. Innomen has shown that the elderly CAN do a great job as President, so I feel that our age and experience will be an advantage. :)

I've chosen to run, not because I think the other candidates can't do the job, but because I feel that I have experience in areas that will be advantageous when dealing with Juggle, as well as other DDO members. Innomen has brought professionalism and credibility to the office of President, and I'd like the opportunity to try and continue that, while we grow our community.

A little about myself...I'm 47 years old, married with 3 sons and 3 grandchildren. I'm a 911 paramedic in South Carolina, but was born and raised in Indiana. I've been a DDO member for over a year now, and have enjoyed my time here.

My experience as a paramedic has taught me a great deal about professionalism, multi-tasking, paying attention to detail, time management, dispute resolution, and a number of other skills that would be helpful as President. In addition, prior to working in EMS, I served nine years as a local representative of the United Steelworkers of America. I was chairman of the greivance and safety committees, member of the negotiating committee, and also served as treasurer and financial secretary. During my service, I spent numerous hours in negotiation with upper management, and learned alot about resolving disputes in a way that both sides can live with. Both careers, as well as life experience, has taught me a great deal about people and above all, I think that is the most important knowledge that one can have.