Jump to topic:

Voting

ZT
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/17/2009 6:59:49 PM
Posted: 7 years ago
Correct me if I'm wrong, (I'm fairly new to debate.org), but it seems like someone actually gets points when a judge agreed with them before a debate. This seems completely unfair: If I agree with person X's position before the debate, but person Y's after, then both would get a point. Yet person Y did all the work of actually convincing me. This should be changed to a system where points are given by comparing the "before" opinion to the "after" opinion, and until that happens, judges should leave the "before" opinion as "neutral" to have a more fair debate.

Any thoughts?
Xer
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/17/2009 7:07:41 PM
Nope. You're wrong.

Who did you agree with before the debate? - 0 points
Who did you agree with after the debate? - 0 points
Who had better conduct? - 1 point
Who had better spelling and grammar? - 1 point
Who made more convincing arguments? - 3 points
Who used the most reliable sources? - 2 points
Cerebral_Narcissist
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/18/2009 5:19:57 AM
At 8/17/2009 7:07:41 PM, Nags wrote:
Nope. You're wrong.

Oh good!
I am voting for Innomen because of his intelligence, common sense, humility and the fact that Juggle appears to listen to him. Any other Presidential style would have a large sub-section of the site up in arms. If I was President I would destroy the site though elitism, others would let it run riot. Innomen represents a middle way that works, neither draconian nor anarchic and that is the only way things can work. Plus he does it all without ego trips.
ZT
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/19/2009 8:39:50 AM
At 8/17/2009 7:07:41 PM, Nags wrote:
Nope. You're wrong.

Thanks for the correction.
Artifice
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/19/2009 3:28:33 PM