Total Posts:521|Showing Posts:1-30|Last Page
Jump to topic:

OFFICIAL: DDO Bug Reporting

RoyLatham
Posts: 4,488
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/22/2012 12:59:51 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
1. There is longstanding bug in which someone changes the font or background color inside a post (using an html string) and the newly introduced font or color bleeds through to the rest of the page. this happens in both debates and messages.

2. Similar hacking can make it impossible to add messages to a thread, thereby killing the thread.

3. There is a bug when importing a debate argument from Word or OpenOffice Writer. There is an icon in the argument text box for such imports. what happens is that the paragraph separations are imported incorrectly so every time that you Review then Edit, it adds another line between paragraphs.

4. When writing a a debate argument, sometimes what you have entered is lost. This happens often enough that many of us long-winded types prepare arguments in Word rather than type them in directly. This then brings up the formatting bugs in importing from Word.

5. Special characters in debate titles are often displayed as codes. For example, the a with bar over it that should be used as the second a in Kalam becomes a ā in the debate title. See http://www.debate.org... The letter is correctly shown in the "My Debates" list.
BlackVoid
Posts: 9,170
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/22/2012 1:11:59 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 9/22/2012 12:59:51 PM, RoyLatham wrote:
4. When writing a a debate argument, sometimes what you have entered is lost. This happens often enough that many of us long-winded types prepare arguments in Word rather than type them in directly. This then brings up the formatting bugs in importing from Word.

Hm, I've never had this issue. As long as you hit Review and the X out without actually submitting, it should save fine.
TUF
Posts: 21,309
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/22/2012 1:18:12 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 9/22/2012 12:59:51 PM, RoyLatham wrote:
3. There is a bug when importing a debate argument from Word or OpenOffice Writer. There is an icon in the argument text box for such imports. what happens is that the paragraph separations are imported incorrectly so every time that you Review then Edit, it adds another line between paragraphs.

I would like this one fixed, it is especially aggrivating.

4. When writing a a debate argument, sometimes what you have entered is lost. This happens often enough that many of us long-winded types prepare arguments in Word rather than type them in directly. This then brings up the formatting bugs in importing from Word.

this/

5. Special characters in debate titles are often displayed as codes. For example, the a with bar over it that should be used as the second a in Kalam becomes a ā in the debate title. See http://www.debate.org... The letter is correctly shown in the "My Debates" list.

This/
"I've got to go and grab a shirt" ~ Airmax1227
Viper-King
Posts: 4,822
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/23/2012 8:32:33 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
There is a bug in which I can't see the drop-down for debates, opinions, or forums but I can see it after I put my mouse right next to the titles.
RoyLatham
Posts: 4,488
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/24/2012 4:48:58 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 9/22/2012 1:11:59 PM, BlackVoid wrote:
At 9/22/2012 12:59:51 PM, RoyLatham wrote:
4. When writing a a debate argument, sometimes what you have entered is lost. This happens often enough that many of us long-winded types prepare arguments in Word rather than type them in directly. This then brings up the formatting bugs in importing from Word.

Hm, I've never had this issue. As long as you hit Review and the X out without actually submitting, it should save fine.

I'm not sure of all the exact circumstances, but one case is when hitting Review causes a crash or when the computer crashes before Review. In other words, it is not auto-saved.
JaxsonRaine
Posts: 3,606
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/24/2012 9:53:47 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
I have a little thing that annoys me to point out. The breadcrumb links that are on the forums are inconsistent. While browsing a thread, the breadcrumb is as follows, at the top of the page:

Forums >> Debate.org >> The DDO of the future

However, when you are actually browsing a forum, the breadcrumb is structured as follows:

Home >> Forums >> Debate.org

with another breadcrumb just slightly under it as:

Forums >> Debate.org

So basically, you have two breadcrumbs that have different formats. I prefer the placement of the top breadcrumb, but the structure of the original set, without the link for 'home'.
twocupcakes: 15 = 13
SObszanski
Posts: 102
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/25/2012 7:19:31 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 9/23/2012 8:32:33 PM, Viper-King wrote:
There is a bug in which I can't see the drop-down for debates, opinions, or forums but I can see it after I put my mouse right next to the titles.

^Specifically in regards to this... The drop-downs are available when you click on the arrow to the right of the words "Debates," "Opinions," and "Forums." Clicking on the words themselves will take you directly to that section of the site.

To everyone: We are continuously compiling your feedback, and will be sure to take action on the problems reported here.

Thanks!
Suzanne
SObszanski
Posts: 102
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/25/2012 7:28:43 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
Also:

Please take a moment to review a recent thread regarding the prioritization of future enhancements here: http://www.debate.org...

Cast your votes in the poll, and comment on the forum above to keep the thread at the top of the page.

This will help us decide which of these items to take action on first.

Thanks again!
Suzanne
Xerge
Posts: 1,906
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/27/2012 3:24:39 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 9/27/2012 3:14:43 PM, darkkermit wrote:
http://blog.debate.org...

computer says that it reports malware. Not sure if anyone else is getting this.

Same here.
SObszanski
Posts: 102
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/27/2012 8:45:06 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 9/27/2012 3:24:39 PM, Xerge wrote:
At 9/27/2012 3:14:43 PM, darkkermit wrote:
http://blog.debate.org...

computer says that it reports malware. Not sure if anyone else is getting this.

Same here.

Our IT specialist has determined that there is not actually any malware on the blog, thankfully. Rather, a "third party" has "added malicious code...which would cause us to show the warning message."

The blog is currently in the process of being reviewed by Google, after which the warning message should disappear.
SObszanski
Posts: 102
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/27/2012 9:43:19 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 9/27/2012 8:45:06 PM, SObszanski wrote:
At 9/27/2012 3:24:39 PM, Xerge wrote:
At 9/27/2012 3:14:43 PM, darkkermit wrote:
http://blog.debate.org...

computer says that it reports malware. Not sure if anyone else is getting this.

Same here.

Our IT specialist has determined that there is not actually any malware on the blog, thankfully. Rather, a "third party" has "added malicious code...which would cause us to show the warning message."

The blog is currently in the process of being reviewed by Google, after which the warning message should disappear.

Update: Wordpress was hacked. IT is fixing it now. We will update you when all is clear.
ishallannoyyo
Posts: 1,034
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/27/2012 10:08:31 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
When I try to do something, I sometimes get a 500 Internal error. When I refresh the page, it spontaneously works.

Also, whenever I try to post my opinion the website freezes, but my computer says the DDO is running fine.

?
tvellalott
Posts: 10,864
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/29/2012 5:24:07 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
I'm sure this has been reported before but if you message someone, their first response doesn't show up as a notification. Missed an important message for more than a week because of it.
"Caitlyn Jenner is an incredibly brave and stunningly beautiful woman."

Muh threads
Using mafia tactics in real-life: http://www.debate.org...
6 years of DDO: http://www.debate.org...
johnnyboy54
Posts: 6,362
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/29/2012 5:35:53 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
Minor bug. Any messages I have don't show up on the left sidebar (with the photos, friends, dashboard ect) However, it does up on the top where it says, "Welcome johnnyboy."
I didn't order assholes with my whiskey.
Wallstreetatheist
Posts: 7,132
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/30/2012 3:29:16 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 9/27/2012 8:45:06 PM, SObszanski wrote:
At 9/27/2012 3:24:39 PM, Xerge wrote:
At 9/27/2012 3:14:43 PM, darkkermit wrote:
http://blog.debate.org...

computer says that it reports malware. Not sure if anyone else is getting this.

Same here.

Our IT specialist has determined that there is not actually any malware on the blog, thankfully. Rather, a "third party" has "added malicious code...which would cause us to show the warning message."


Damnit, FREEDO...
DRUG HARM: http://imgur.com...
Primal Diet. Lifting. Reading. Psychedelics. Cold-Approach Pickup. Music.
SObszanski
Posts: 102
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
10/1/2012 5:22:48 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
Thank you all for your attentiveness. We greatly appreciate your help in identifying these bugs.

We are sorting through and prioritizing these issues, and will provide updates as they become available.

Thank you!
Suzanne
16kadams
Posts: 10,497
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
10/1/2012 11:07:06 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 9/29/2012 6:05:38 PM, Viper-King wrote:
http://www.debate.org...

Bug.

SEE ROUND 3

Please fix this...
https://www.youtube.com...
https://rekonomics.wordpress.com...
"A trend is a trend, but the question is, will it bend? Will it alter its course through some unforeseen force and come to a premature end?" -- Alec Cairncross
Lordknukle
Posts: 12,788
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
10/1/2012 11:22:38 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 9/22/2012 12:59:51 PM, RoyLatham wrote:
4. When writing a a debate argument, sometimes what you have entered is lost. This happens often enough that many of us long-winded types prepare arguments in Word rather than type them in directly. This then brings up the formatting bugs in importing from Word.

This this this this this this this.
"Easy is the descent to Avernus, for the door to the Underworld lies upon both day and night. But to retrace your steps and return to the breezes above- that's the task, that's the toil."
Viper-King
Posts: 4,822
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
10/9/2012 11:00:58 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 10/1/2012 11:22:38 PM, Lordknukle wrote:
At 9/22/2012 12:59:51 PM, RoyLatham wrote:
4. When writing a a debate argument, sometimes what you have entered is lost. This happens often enough that many of us long-winded types prepare arguments in Word rather than type them in directly. This then brings up the formatting bugs in importing from Word.

Definitely this. This happened to me tens of times and makes me feel as if I deserve compensation.
SObszanski
Posts: 102
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
10/10/2012 3:23:57 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 10/9/2012 11:00:58 PM, Viper-King wrote:
At 10/1/2012 11:22:38 PM, Lordknukle wrote:
At 9/22/2012 12:59:51 PM, RoyLatham wrote:
4. When writing a a debate argument, sometimes what you have entered is lost. This happens often enough that many of us long-winded types prepare arguments in Word rather than type them in directly. This then brings up the formatting bugs in importing from Word.

Definitely this. This happened to me tens of times and makes me feel as if I deserve compensation.

We are definitely aware that this is a problem. We are working on fixing this and the other bugs and will keep you updated on any changes we make!

Thanks!
Suzanne
TrasguTravieso
Posts: 93
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
10/10/2012 7:33:29 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
I cannot confirm my identity due to the fact that my country (Spain) is not on the list. I can't send a message either, because the form asks me to state my name and does not allow me to do so either. Is there an alternate way to confirm identity?
DeFool
Posts: 626
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
10/15/2012 1:58:38 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
Several of my debates are showing that my partner has forfeited, and that technical difficulties are preventing the site from updating.

The following error message appears:

"Our system has not yet updated this debate. Please check back in a few minutes for more options."

An example can be found at the following link: http://www.debate.org...
RoyLatham
Posts: 4,488
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
10/16/2012 1:34:52 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
I discovered that when I put "R&D" into comments on my profile that everything after the "R" is deleted from the comments. That's a truly creative bug.
bossyburrito
Posts: 14,075
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
10/19/2012 12:43:19 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
When I try to pick "People" in the searchbar it won't change. It's stuck on Debates.
#UnbanTheMadman

"Some will sell their dreams for small desires
Or lose the race to rats
Get caught in ticking traps
And start to dream of somewhere
To relax their restless flight
Somewhere out of a memory of lighted streets on quiet nights..."

~ Rush
Mirza
Posts: 16,992
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
10/20/2012 6:00:47 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
When attempting to use the full screen function of embedded YouTube videos, it does not work. I don't know if it is due to the YouTube format when posted in some forum sites, but I think it should be fixed if possible. Here, try maximizing this video:
Mirza
Posts: 16,992
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
10/20/2012 7:49:27 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
Under "Help" and "Contact Us," it seems that the option does not work. It might be that you never respond to people who contact you through the customer support option, but I'd like you to put that on the table and explain it.