Total Posts:41|Showing Posts:1-30|Last Page
Jump to topic:

Why Instigate A Debate & Then Argue Con?

OhioGary
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/20/2013 5:37:19 PM
Posted: 3 years ago
Hello everyone:

I'm new to Debate.org but I've noticed that a fair number of debates have the instigator propose a resolution and then argue Con. To me, it seems a bit odd. Would it not be better to just rewrite the resolution in negative form and then argue Pro?

Have any of you instigated a debate and then chose Con? Why did you do it? What is the benefit of structuring the debate this way?

Thanks for your insight on this!
"There ain't no good guy. There ain't no bad guy. There's only you & me & we just diasgree."
SarcasticIndeed
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/20/2013 5:41:35 PM
At 1/20/2013 5:37:19 PM, OhioGary wrote:
Hello everyone:

I'm new to Debate.org but I've noticed that a fair number of debates have the instigator propose a resolution and then argue Con. To me, it seems a bit odd. Would it not be better to just rewrite the resolution in negative form and then argue Pro?

Have any of you instigated a debate and then chose Con? Why did you do it? What is the benefit of structuring the debate this way?

It's because resolutions seem more friendly and clear in positive form. "God Exists" sound better than "God Doesn't Exist". Not needed, but some people would likely find it more appealing that way. This isn't always the case, of course.
<SIGNATURE CENSORED> nac
phantom
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/20/2013 5:51:58 PM
It's more proper but since some people don't like it, I'm more cautious about doing it.

Take the issue of whether God exists. For this topic, the affirmative is in general that God exists. Thus the pro position is that God exists while the con position is that he does not. In order to retain this meaning, debaters take the con instead of pro even though they are instigating.