Jump to topic:

What is the point of percentiles?

GOP
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/15/2013 7:11:28 PM
Posted: 3 years ago
I see people on 63rd percentile, 82nd percentile, 99th percentile, and so on.

However, none of these percentiles reflect their actual ranking in any way. If anything, it's the ELO rating that does reflect their ranking. So, even if someone has 10 wins and 30 losses, that person is still around the 90's. Am I wrong? Do correct me if I am.

I am new to DDO, anyway. Haha.
DoubtingDave
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/15/2013 7:16:08 PM
At 6/15/2013 7:11:28 PM, GOP wrote:

However, none of these percentiles reflect their actual ranking in any way. If anything, it's the ELO rating that does reflect their ranking. So, even if someone has 10 wins and 30 losses, that person is still around the 90's. Am I wrong? Do correct me if I am.

First of all a warm welcome to debate.org!

A percentile states that you are better than x% of members on debate.org. For example, if you are in the 90th percentile, you are better than 90% of members on DDO.

I do have to agree with you that there are some serious updates needed to the percentile rankings. Those are currently underway I believe.
The Great Wall of Fail

"I have doubts that anti-semitism even exists" -GeoLaureate8

"Evolutionists think that people evolved from rocks" -Scotty

"And whats so bad about a Holy war? By Holy war, I mean a war which would aim to subdue others under Islam." -Ahmed.M

"The free market didn't create the massive wealth in the country, WW2 did." -malcomxy

"Independant federal regulators make our capitalist society possible." -Erik_Erikson
sadolite
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/15/2013 9:37:55 PM
Take my record for instance

Debates 47
Lost: 39
Tied: 0
Won: 8
Win Ratio: 17.02%
Percentile: 96.00%

Doesn't make much sense to me either. Seems like it reflects total debates win or loose.