Jump to topic:

Debate.org should pay me to write debates

Freeman
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/2/2013 9:20:49 PM
Posted: 3 years ago
I was initially going to make the topic "Debate.org should pay us to write debates," but I think it draws more attention the way that it is. In any case, the same basic ideas apply. I'm going to present a brief argument why debate.org should be paying us to create content -- similar to how Youtube pays it's partners. See this video for an explanation on youtube partnerships. --->

Whether you realize it or not, Debate.org is making money from all of us, at least those of us who make debates. How do they do this you ask? Allow me to explain. While I'm not an expert in internet marketing, it is currently how I make the bulk of my money.

Debate.org puts up advertisements across the site for various companies. I've seen ads from the state department, HRC and various colleges just to name a few. I'm not entirely sure about the system that DDO has set up with its ads, but it's likely Pay Per Click (PPC). Everytime someone clicks an ad, DDO.org owners get money.

And every time we create a debate, we're creating interesting and unique content that draws in more visitors. More traffic equals more people clicking on ads, which leads to more money. That's how it works in a nutshell.

DDO.org should pay people who bring in lots of traffic with their debates and allow them to monetize the debates through google adsense. This would help everyone. It would encourage people to stick around and create good content that gets lots of traffic. And the additional traffic will create more money for debate.org and its affiliates.

What we're doing is valuable. People are making money off of us. It only makes sense to bring these people in who are creating great content and further incentivize them for it.
Chancellor of Propaganda and Foreign Relations in the Franklin administration.