Total Posts:11|Showing Posts:1-11
Jump to topic:

And lo I present a question to you.

Mysterious_Stranger
Posts: 1,562
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/10/2014 10:19:09 AM
Posted: 3 years ago
Is a FF on a debate an automatic loss for the person who forfeited, regardless of what the other opponent does?
Turn around, go back.
NightofTheLivingCats
Posts: 2,294
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/10/2014 10:24:43 AM
Posted: 3 years ago
At 2/10/2014 10:19:09 AM, Mysterious_Stranger wrote:
Is a FF on a debate an automatic loss for the person who forfeited, regardless of what the other opponent does?

Unless the other person posted Child Porno, then its basically a auto loss.
kbub
Posts: 1,377
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/10/2014 10:30:48 AM
Posted: 3 years ago
At 2/10/2014 10:19:09 AM, Mysterious_Stranger wrote:
Is a FF on a debate an automatic loss for the person who forfeited, regardless of what the other opponent does?

I'm on the fence. In my opinion no, unless the opposing side makes a winning argument for why it should be counted as a FF. I always give 3-4 reasons for why the debate should be given to me when my opponent FFs.

I think it should automatically count as a conduct loss though.
Zaradi
Posts: 14,314
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/10/2014 11:24:43 AM
Posted: 3 years ago
Forfeiting is an automatic conduct deduction. If it's a full forfeit, you're usually gonna get the auto-win, so long as you posted some kind of argument. It doesn't even have to be a good argument, so long as you have an argument to vote off of. If you and I are in a debate and you full forfeit, all I have to do to win is post "I am right because buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo".

In short, so long as you're giving some kind of argument, even if it's a bad one, you'll auto-win a full forfeit.
Want to debate? Pick a topic and hit me up! - http://www.debate.org...
sadolite
Posts: 9,155
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/10/2014 4:01:19 PM
Posted: 3 years ago
At 2/10/2014 10:19:09 AM, Mysterious_Stranger wrote:
Is a FF on a debate an automatic loss for the person who forfeited, regardless of what the other opponent does?

DDO does not recognize it as an automatic win. Voters might. But that doesn't constitute automatic. Debates where opponents forfeit all rounds, not just one round, will get votes in their favor.
phantom
Posts: 6,774
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/10/2014 11:07:29 PM
Posted: 3 years ago
A single forfeit used to generally be considered as warrant for a conduct point loss only; now it seems allot of people view it as an auto loss. I only deduct the conduct point and think that's how it should be unless other rules are stipulated.
"Music is a zen-like ecstatic state where you become the new man of the future, the Nietzschean merger of Apollo and Dionysus." Ray Manzarek (The Doors)
EndarkenedRationalist
Posts: 14,201
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/11/2014 8:36:35 PM
Posted: 3 years ago
At 2/10/2014 10:19:09 AM, Mysterious_Stranger wrote:
Is a FF on a debate an automatic loss for the person who forfeited, regardless of what the other opponent does?

Generally, yes, unless the other opponent also has a full forfeit or just trolled in every round (in a non-troll debate) while the other person made at least a few good arguments.
Romanii
Posts: 5,037
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/11/2014 9:39:07 PM
Posted: 3 years ago
At 2/10/2014 10:19:09 AM, Mysterious_Stranger wrote:
Is a FF on a debate an automatic loss for the person who forfeited, regardless of what the other opponent does?

No, it should only result in conduct loss.
Many times, FFs are accidents and the person still deserves a chance.
Subutai
Posts: 3,910
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/11/2014 10:10:52 PM
Posted: 3 years ago
At 2/10/2014 10:19:09 AM, Mysterious_Stranger wrote:
Is a FF on a debate an automatic loss for the person who forfeited, regardless of what the other opponent does?

That depends on how many forfeits the debater makes and in what round the debater makes them in. In general, one forfeit only justifies deducting conduct, and two or more generally means that that debater automatically loses.
Capitalism will never fall on its own. It will have to be pushed. The accumulation of capital will never cease. It will have to be stopped. The capitalist class will never willingly surrender their power. It will have to be dispossessed. - David Harvey
MassiveDump
Posts: 3,423
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/11/2014 10:20:20 PM
Posted: 3 years ago
It's a full loss when he doesn't argue anything afterwards. In a real debate, if you stop arguing, you lose. End of story.

It's a conduct loss when he continues his argument afterwards, therefore not fully forfeiting. It's like sleeping through your turn of the rap battle, but then dropping a dope rhyme afterwards.
phantom
Posts: 6,774
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/11/2014 11:58:22 PM
Posted: 3 years ago
At 2/11/2014 10:20:20 PM, MassiveDump wrote:
It's a full loss when he doesn't argue anything afterwards. In a real debate, if you stop arguing, you lose. End of story.

It's a conduct loss when he continues his argument afterwards, therefore not fully forfeiting. It's like sleeping through your turn of the rap battle, but then dropping a dope rhyme afterwards.

The last round of the debate is the least important, but if someone forfeits in that round, there's no chance for him to pick it up again. Are you including final round forfeits as warranting a full loss?
"Music is a zen-like ecstatic state where you become the new man of the future, the Nietzschean merger of Apollo and Dionysus." Ray Manzarek (The Doors)