Jump to topic:

An Assignment for my Anthropology Class

EyYoItsTyrone
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
10/31/2014 2:29:07 PM
Posted: 2 years ago
Hey everyone, I'm a new member at Debate.org. After looking around a little bit, I've got to say that this website looks like a really fun, interesting, and civil environment to have entertaining/thought provoking discussions about almost anything. I'll be really happy to view and contribute to the already funny and intelligent content I've seen on the site.

I'm also a freshman attending college, and I'm taking an anthropology class about technological presence throughout human history. One of our assignments was to get feedback from users of a social networking website about various aspects that make up their "digital, online community." These "community" aspects include things like shared social identity, online space, proper social etiquette, "do's and don'ts," etc. To get a better understanding of these community elements, I'd greatly appreciate it if other members of this website answered a few of my questions. Any amount of feedback is appreciated!

First of all, why do you use the website? For what purpose?

Does Debate.org foster a sense of "community" between users? Why or why not? If it does, could you please use examples?

What do you share in common with other users at this website (interests, culture, religion, hobbies, etc)?

Have you ever gotten any assistance from someone on the site with something you needed help with in the offline world? What, for example?

How would you describe a "good" user of the site and a "bad" user? How do you get "popular" or "well-respected" on the site? And how do you get disliked? Examples would also be appreciated.

Without getting into too much personal detail, what are the social characteristics of the people who use the site (age, gender, social class, race, sexual orientation, culture, sub-culture, occupation, religion, etc.)?