Jump to topic:

The First Post In A New Era: Zaradi's 12k

Zaradi
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/8/2015 9:04:53 PM
Posted: 1 year ago
It's kind of funny to me. Looking back at some of the posts I made when I was a little newbie member of the site, I can't help but think about not only how silly I must've seemed to the more experienced people on the site, but also how much I've changed as a person. I've talked, debated, played more than a few games of mafia (which was a COMPLETE waste of my time ;), and connected with so many people over the site. I've made so many friends on this site who've given me so much, both emotionally and mentally, even financially (yes, TUF, I'm looking at you). I can only hope that one day I can give back to the site even a percentage of what it's given to me.

Recently a lot of the older members have been talking about how far this site's core has fallen in quality: how debates have become low quality cesspools and votes are worse, and how they've been considering leaving the site because of it and moving on with their lives. A lot of the criticisms are correct: debates now are at a much lower quality than they were before. Voters are hard to find and those who are willing to vote very rarely know how to properly evaluate a debate. When voters try to defend that a rebuttal isn't an argument, things have fallen really, really far.

I won't lie, I've considered leaving too. It's hard to say that the site today is the same site it was two, three years ago when I first joined. But part of me rejects that logic. Debate.org is my home. I love it here, flawed as it is. The people here are my friends, my family even. Whenever I'm having a bad day, I know I can come on here and forget about my problems, and that there are people on here who I can go to for help when I need it.

That was my crappy attempt to segway into shoutouts, by the way.