Jump to topic:

Are you all nothing but sophists?

jowett
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
3/23/2015 12:34:03 AM
Posted: 1 year ago
I'm new to DDO, so I look at the leaderboard to try to find someone who's past debates I can learn from. This guy Mikal is at the top. So I go to the last ACTUAL debate I can find of his (not counting rap battles). He's debating this guy, a noob, about whether "God is dead," 5 rounds, and spends all his time arguing that in order for God to be technically dead, he'd have to first be alive and all that bs, AND WINS.

What I want to know is if everybody else on this site is a (you tell me) like him who just wants to alienate noobs on their way to jacking up their leaderboard ranking, or are there people here who are actually trying to sharpen their reasoning faculties so that they can make better decisions in life and become better human beings (and if so who they are so that I can learn from them).

Thank you.
Mikal
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
3/23/2015 12:49:43 AM
At 3/23/2015 12:34:03 AM, jowett wrote:
I'm new to DDO, so I look at the leaderboard to try to find someone who's past debates I can learn from. This guy Mikal is at the top. So I go to the last ACTUAL debate I can find of his (not counting rap battles). He's debating this guy, a noob, about whether "God is dead," 5 rounds, and spends all his time arguing that in order for God to be technically dead, he'd have to first be alive and all that bs, AND WINS.

What I want to know is if everybody else on this site is a (you tell me) like him who just wants to alienate noobs on their way to jacking up their leaderboard ranking, or are there people here who are actually trying to sharpen their reasoning faculties so that they can make better decisions in life and become better human beings (and if so who they are so that I can learn from them).

Thank you.