Jump to topic:

Debate Help

TrufflesofGlory
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
11/12/2015 5:46:53 PM
Posted: 1 year ago
Hello, my name is Steven. I recently decided that I'm going to try out for my high school's debate team in the upcoming school year, but I have no experience with debating or outside knowledge I can draw from. I'm worried, therefore, about my chances of being admitted since most people on the team are very experienced and can probably argue circles around me. I joined this website hoping that someone could guide me in the right direction so I at least have a fighting chance.

If someone could tell me where I should even start, I would immensely appreciate it.
TBR
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
11/12/2015 5:57:06 PM
At 11/12/2015 5:46:53 PM, TrufflesofGlory wrote:
Hello, my name is Steven. I recently decided that I'm going to try out for my high school's debate team in the upcoming school year, but I have no experience with debating or outside knowledge I can draw from. I'm worried, therefore, about my chances of being admitted since most people on the team are very experienced and can probably argue circles around me. I joined this website hoping that someone could guide me in the right direction so I at least have a fighting chance.

If someone could tell me where I should even start, I would immensely appreciate it.

This is a link to the debate leader board.

http://www.debate.org...

Start there, read the debates. bsh1 has written a good doc (well, I haven't actually read the thing, but...) its around here somewhere.

Start a couple debates. Try it out. Remember, you are starting at the same level as others. Don't Panic.
TBR
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
11/12/2015 6:04:09 PM
Try this link

There are a lot of debates and debaters that get silly. You do have to weed through them a bit to find something of worth.
TrufflesofGlory
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message