Jump to topic:

Hypocritical deployment

PARADIGM_L0ST
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
11/2/2010 2:54:16 PM
Posted: 6 years ago
Starting tomorrow I will deploying for 2 months and missing the hell out of my little family. Oh, and of course you fine folk too. Bye, by the way...

Anyway, it dawned on me that the majority of the time I will be conducting 2 things I do not personally agree with ideologically, but professionally have to -- namely, counter-narcotics and alien/migrant interdiction.

I really enjoy law enforcement though. It's something I believe I have an affinity for and aptitude. I have about 0 years experience with it, and that makes up the majority of my professional career.

But this kind of law enforcement bothers me on a personal level. I don't have much of a choice in the matter, as I signed a contract which obligates me to conduct such things. It still does nothing to give me solace that my role in this forces me to be a hypocrite, as much as I don't like it.

Thoughts?
"Have you ever considered suicide? If not, please do." -- Mouthwash (to Inferno)
Ore_Ele
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
11/2/2010 2:58:30 PM
At 11/2/2010 2:54:16 PM, PARADIGM_L0ST wrote:
Starting tomorrow I will deploying for 2 months and missing the hell out of my little family. Oh, and of course you fine folk too. Bye, by the way...

Anyway, it dawned on me that the majority of the time I will be conducting 2 things I do not personally agree with ideologically, but professionally have to -- namely, counter-narcotics and alien/migrant interdiction.

I really enjoy law enforcement though. It's something I believe I have an affinity for and aptitude. I have about 0 years experience with it, and that makes up the majority of my professional career.