Total Posts:8|Showing Posts:1-8
Jump to topic:

Question

CodingSource
Posts: 350
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/15/2016 4:10:14 PM
Posted: 9 months ago
Everytime I construct an argument I do it first in Microsoft Word. It is a very useful tool for me not to check the grammar and spelling but also for compiling the information that I needed to secure the win.

However, whenever I copy and paste it, every ' is replaced to " and it bothers me very much.

Whenever I'm going to submit a debate I always need to edit it, which is a waste of time.

By the way, I use MS Word 2007 and a newly-updated Firefox.
If computers have no doors or fences, who needs Windows and Gates?

I have a 10-0-0 debate record with an ELO ranking of 2,814. From 610th during my first two-week stay, I am now 326th in the Debates Leaderboard: http://www.debate.org...
lannan13
Posts: 23,065
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/15/2016 4:27:49 PM
Posted: 9 months ago
At 2/15/2016 4:10:14 PM, CodingSource wrote:
Everytime I construct an argument I do it first in Microsoft Word. It is a very useful tool for me not to check the grammar and spelling but also for compiling the information that I needed to secure the win.

However, whenever I copy and paste it, every ' is replaced to " and it bothers me very much.

Whenever I'm going to submit a debate I always need to edit it, which is a waste of time.

By the way, I use MS Word 2007 and a newly-updated Firefox.

I use the Microsoft Word 2016 as well as Google Chrome and it works fine for me.
-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-Lannan13'S SIGNATURE-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-

If the sky's the limit then why do we have footprints on the Moon? I'm shooting my aspirations for the stars.

"If you are going through hell, keep going." "Sir Winston Churchill

"No one can make you feel inferior without your consent." "Eleanor Roosevelt

Topics I want to debate. (http://tinyurl.com...)
-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~
lannan13
Posts: 23,065
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/15/2016 4:28:10 PM
Posted: 9 months ago
So what's the question?
-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-Lannan13'S SIGNATURE-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-

If the sky's the limit then why do we have footprints on the Moon? I'm shooting my aspirations for the stars.

"If you are going through hell, keep going." "Sir Winston Churchill

"No one can make you feel inferior without your consent." "Eleanor Roosevelt

Topics I want to debate. (http://tinyurl.com...)
-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~
Hayd
Posts: 4,022
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/15/2016 5:03:28 PM
Posted: 9 months ago
At 2/15/2016 4:10:14 PM, CodingSource wrote:
Everytime I construct an argument I do it first in Microsoft Word. It is a very useful tool for me not to check the grammar and spelling but also for compiling the information that I needed to secure the win.

However, whenever I copy and paste it, every ' is replaced to " and it bothers me very much.

Whenever I'm going to submit a debate I always need to edit it, which is a waste of time.

By the way, I use MS Word 2007 and a newly-updated Firefox.

Use the paste from Word feature. Select Rich Text, and then on the bottom left hit the folder with the word logo on it. Then paste into, I haven't used it before though, but try that.
bsh1
Posts: 27,504
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/15/2016 8:09:12 PM
Posted: 9 months ago
This has been an error since I joined.
Live Long and Prosper

I'm a Bish.


"Twilight isn't just about obtuse metaphors between cannibalism and premarital sex, it also teaches us the futility of hope." - Raisor

"[Bsh1] is the Guinan of DDO." - ButterCatX

Follow the DDOlympics
: http://www.debate.org...

Open Debate Topics Project: http://www.debate.org...
ColeTrain
Posts: 4,313
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/15/2016 9:45:13 PM
Posted: 9 months ago
At 2/15/2016 4:10:14 PM, CodingSource wrote:
Everytime I construct an argument I do it first in Microsoft Word. It is a very useful tool for me not to check the grammar and spelling but also for compiling the information that I needed to secure the win.

However, whenever I copy and paste it, every ' is replaced to " and it bothers me very much.

Whenever I'm going to submit a debate I always need to edit it, which is a waste of time.

By the way, I use MS Word 2007 and a newly-updated Firefox.

Unfortunately, this is a common problem. I don't know any remedy. I guess the only real solution would be to refrain from using any contractions. :P
"The right to 360 noscope noobs shall not be infringed!!!" -- tajshar2k
"So, to start off, I've never committed suicide." -- Vaarka
"I eat glue." -- brontoraptor
"I mean, at this rate, I'd argue for a ham sandwich presidency." -- ResponsiblyIrresponsible
"Overthrow Assad, heil jihad." -- 16kadams when trolling in hangout
"Hillary Clinton is not my favorite person ... and her campaign is as inspiring as a bowl of cottage cheese." -- YYW
Blade-of-Truth
Posts: 5,035
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/17/2016 2:21:39 AM
Posted: 9 months ago
At 2/15/2016 8:09:12 PM, bsh1 wrote:
This has been an error since I joined.

Same
Debate.org Deputy Vote Moderator
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
DDO Voting Guide: http://www.debate.org...
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Need a judge on your debate? Nominate me! http://www.debate.org...
CodingSource
Posts: 350
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/18/2016 3:22:47 AM
Posted: 9 months ago
Thanks guys for the answers. I thought it was only me :P
If computers have no doors or fences, who needs Windows and Gates?

I have a 10-0-0 debate record with an ELO ranking of 2,814. From 610th during my first two-week stay, I am now 326th in the Debates Leaderboard: http://www.debate.org...