Jump to topic:

Should China float the Yuan?

larztheloser
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/15/2011 11:52:58 PM
Posted: 5 years ago
I'm doing a debate on this in about a week (in real life, not on DDO). I'm opposing the motion that China should float the Yuan. Unfortunately I'm not an expert at economics so I'm wondering what people here think the key arguments are on both sides?

My guess is that the aff case (correct me if I'm wrong) will be that the distortion of the price of their currency leads to inflation as local imports become more expensive when their economy grows. The obvious neg counter-argument is that many in China will become unemployed as local exports are kept cheaper under the status quo, so increasing the cost of Chinese exports will mean fewer people buy them and Chinese factories are forced to lay off workers? Am I right? What other considerations are there?
TheBaldKnobbers
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/16/2011 12:21:43 AM
I doubt it would do any good for the chinese consumer as most foreign goods in China are taxed to high heaven via mysterious tarriffs and arbitrarily chosen sales tax that is not disclosed to the consumer. Most of the working base is in extreme poverty and largely uneducated. Most workers are factory workers. So it'd really hurt their economy, especially as other markets for cheap labor open up. In the future they should slowly move towards boosting the Yuan but at least wait until the eurozone quits being shakey. Last week french banks got crushed.
bluesteel
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/16/2011 12:28:05 AM
At 8/15/2011 11:52:58 PM, larztheloser wrote:
I'm doing a debate on this in about a week (in real life, not on DDO). I'm opposing the motion that China should float the Yuan. Unfortunately I'm not an expert at economics so I'm wondering what people here think the key arguments are on both sides?