Jump to topic:

Can Education solve poverty?

lleyton
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
11/3/2013 12:02:53 AM
Posted: 3 years ago
I am often told by my parents and teachers that education is the way to escape poverty, so I should work hard on studying and getting a degree from post-secondary education.

I am a Hong Kong university student entering my third year in study and I am wondering if this is true or not. It's hard to determine whether all graduates will end up getting a job that has higher pay than if they only had a secondary education background. Doctors, lawyers, engineers, etc will most probably get a higher pay job right after they graduated compared to if they had not graduated with such degrees. But what about others?

In Hong Kong there seems to be a high labour demand in blue collar jobs such as dish washers, construction site workers, waiters/waitresses, etc. A restaurant posted an ad willing to pay much higher wage (HKD $20,000) than entry level general accounting clerks and administrative positions (generally around HKD$10,000-13,000) that usually require at least a college diploma background, and yet no one answered the offer. Hence now restaurants tend to outsource dishwashing to third party dishwashing companies.