Jump to topic:

Learn economics - simplified

Benshapiro
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
5/8/2015 10:10:32 AM
Posted: 1 year ago
I wanted to create this forum for those interested in learning economics without the jargon. The most effective way to learn anything is to explain something in simple terms to make it more easily understood. I'm hoping that responsibly irresponsible will help contribute to this topic because he's obviously very knowledgeable on the subject. All I ask - for anyone contributing - is that you define every term that is used.

I have a BS in Economics. That said, I was a poor student. I'd like to use this forum as an opportunity to teach but help myself learn at the same time. My education made me aware of just how much I don't know and I still have many questions. I'll start from the beginning and explain in my own words.

First, what is the study of economics?

Economics is the study of how we economize things. The most fundamental tenet of economics is the realization that everything is scarce. "Scarcity" just means that every resource on planet earth is in limited supply. Since everything is scarce, economics is the study of how we distribute - or economize - our limited resources.

What do you think of that definition? Was that helpful? Accurate? Feel free to contribute and ask questions.
drawnablank
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
5/8/2015 3:40:53 PM
I really like the concept, actually. :)

One thought I might add in is that specific examples help a lot. My main difficulty understanding these things has always been a need to concretize them, imagine a principle in action. So that might help. :)
Chang29
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
5/8/2015 10:38:40 PM
Great idea to talk about scarcity.