Jump to topic:

RFD for Globalization Debate

whiteflame
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/3/2015 12:32:06 PM
Posted: 1 year ago
Here's the link: http://www.debate.org...

Disclaimer: I wrote this over the course of a few days, so it might be a bit choppy. Also, the majority of it was written in a 2 hour period on a red eye flight, so that might have affected my mindset at the time. Nonetheless, I think it captures all or almost all of my thoughts on this debate, which I felt was pretty close.

RFD:

Ugh. Technical debate. I thought I was done with this when I graduated undergrad and left Parliamentary Debate for good. Well, I guess all those years of experience can come in handy somehow, might as well be now.

I'm going to break this up by focusing first on those points that I feel don't factor into the debate, and then shift to the points that might factor.

Irony

I'm just... I'm just not sure what this argument was meant to do. It appears in R2, then gets extended to R3, and disappears in R4. I can't see what it's doing. Is revealing the irony of Pro's stance somehow showing a harm that results from acting in this way? I can see how the Yanomami might be incredulous, might even refuse funds and retreat further from the world as a result of efforts to provide aid if they view it as a means of globalization. Globalization has hurt them, so logically they might refuse outside aid if it looks like one massive concerted effort to encroach on their sovereignty.