Jump to topic:

Marginal Utility & utility of money

Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/10/2015 8:40:42 AM
Posted: 1 year ago
Hello everyone,

I apologize if I missed the concept of the forum, but I'm studying hard for ma eco test and there is one point in marginal utility that really bugs me.

There is question that has part with marginal utility of money, I'm gonna write it down so maybe someone knows how to solve it.

The table shows the total utility that one individual derives from consuming different quant. of a good.

Quantity(units) Total Utility(units)
1 20
2 36
3 50
4 62
5 72
6 80

(bold numbers should be under TU)

The individual's marginal utility of money is $1=2 units of utility.

What's the maximum quantity of the good that individual will buy when its price is 6$?

I know how to do MU, then MU/price to compare rise and fall....but this I don't understand. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/11/2015 7:10:25 PM
Posted: 1 year ago
Hey, something that my very basic and limited understanding of economics can actually help with!

The price of the good is $6 per unit. Since an individual dollar has a utility of 2 (as well as a marginal utility of 2 for each successive dollar), this means that, effectively, the marginal cost of each unit of the good is 2 utility/dollar times 6 dollars per unit = 12. The consumer gives up $6, which has a constant marginal utility of 12, to buy each good; thus the marginal cost of each good is 12.