Jump to topic:

What Can I Do With This Degree?

Osiris
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
5/18/2011 4:30:08 PM
Posted: 5 years ago
I'm set to graduate next year with my B.A. in Psychology, but I have no idea what kind things I can do with that. I'm aware that I'd need a PhD to do a lot of things (which is why I'm also majoring in nursing as a fall back), but there has to be something...
"Common sense is not so common." -Voltaire
Ore_Ele
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
5/18/2011 4:31:24 PM
At 5/18/2011 4:30:08 PM, Osiris wrote:
I'm set to graduate next year with my B.A. in Psychology, but I have no idea what kind things I can do with that. I'm aware that I'd need a PhD to do a lot of things (which is why I'm also majoring in nursing as a fall back), but there has to be something...

You can apply to any job and say "hire me, I have a degree!"
"Wanting Red Rhino Pill to have gender"
Ore_Ele
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
5/18/2011 4:32:13 PM
You'd be suprised at how many jobs want people to have a degree, but never check what the degree is in, what the person's GPA was, or even care what school it came from.
"Wanting Red Rhino Pill to have gender"
PARADIGM_L0ST
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
5/18/2011 4:43:28 PM
It's a rarity that people with a BS or BA to work in their field of study. OreEle is right. A lot of places just want the piece of paper. You could have a Masters in Underwater Basking Weaving and they wouldn't care so long as you have a diploma.

But if you'd like to stay in that field, there's no shortage of hospitals or private practices looking for psych techs or anything behavioral related.
"Have you ever considered suicide? If not, please do." -- Mouthwash (to Inferno)
Danielle
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
5/21/2011 8:45:21 AM