Jump to topic:

Research in education

RogueScholar
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/16/2010 8:56:41 PM
Posted: 6 years ago
I have been a school psychologist for 20 years, and I truly believe that the solutions for the problems we are having with our public schools are not complicated, requiring research, experts, more money, over a long period of time. I think we have become conditioned into thinking that this is the way things have to work. Certainly this is true of other areas, like medicine, and in particular cancer research. We need to keep doing cancer research, having brilliant minds study it, spending more money, and continuing doing this for however long it takes. Well we've been doing these things in education for a long time and things are getting worse. At the risk of sounding like a religious nut, science has become our religion. Do I dare say it has become our savior? Something I learned in my research methods class during graduate school is that studies, or research, have to be interpreted. In other words, somebody has to make sense out of them or give meaning to them. Human judgment, biases, limitations, agendas, and money are some of the variables that influence research. They are not as objective and factual like the average person thinks. This is why the research can say one thing one day and something completely different the next. And we can't forget that how a study is even set up, or how something will be studied, has the same problems.