Total Posts:51|Showing Posts:1-30|Last Page
Jump to topic:

Slaves of Time Mafia Past DP1

Mestari
Posts: 4,656
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/6/2012 9:11:14 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
No story-based OPs. Check out the introduction thread for a basic overview of how time travel works and ground rules in terms of voting. If you have any questions then ask me in your role pm.

Living Players

1. Caveat
2. Drafterman
3. Budda
4. Johnny
5. Apollo
6. Bluesteel
7. Medic
8. Logic
9. Zaradi
10. HCP
11. West

It takes 6 votes to lynch.
Rules of Mafia

1. Mestari is never third party.
2. If Mestari claims an intricate and page long TP role, he's telling the truth.
3. Mestari always jointly wins with the town.
3b. If he doesn't he's mafia.
3c. If he was mafia you wouldn't suspect him in the first place.
4. If you lynch Mestari you will lose because he will be the third party Doctor or some other townie power role.
5. DP1 lynches are good.
6. The answer is always no.
Mestari
Posts: 4,656
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/6/2012 9:24:45 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
About to be burned

West - 1/6 - Johnny.
Rules of Mafia

1. Mestari is never third party.
2. If Mestari claims an intricate and page long TP role, he's telling the truth.
3. Mestari always jointly wins with the town.
3b. If he doesn't he's mafia.
3c. If he was mafia you wouldn't suspect him in the first place.
4. If you lynch Mestari you will lose because he will be the third party Doctor or some other townie power role.
5. DP1 lynches are good.
6. The answer is always no.
bluesteel
Posts: 12,301
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/6/2012 9:44:40 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
VTL drafterman experienced players should claim first
You can't reason someone out of a position they didn't reason themselves into - Jonathan Swift (paraphrase)
Logic_on_rails
Posts: 2,445
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/6/2012 9:44:45 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
And so 10 of us gather in the past...

Let us be wary of what we do in our respective DPs - it takes only 6 votes to be lynched, and if the Mafia began with say, 5 players in 20 then we have quite a threat. We might expect perhaps that the Mafia are spread between the 2 threads, but of course we can't be sure.

We must also remember that we are only half the picture - getting 3 claims in this DP would be too swift for instance as we have 2 games going in a way. Perhaps 1 claim here, and 1 in the future.

Given I have no idea of West's playing style I believe him to be the optimal choice to claim:

VTL West
"Tis not in mortals to command success
But we"ll do more, Sempronius, we"ll deserve it
Mestari
Posts: 4,656
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/6/2012 9:47:03 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
About to be burned

West - 2/6 - Johnny, Logic
Drafter - 1/6 - Blue
Rules of Mafia

1. Mestari is never third party.
2. If Mestari claims an intricate and page long TP role, he's telling the truth.
3. Mestari always jointly wins with the town.
3b. If he doesn't he's mafia.
3c. If he was mafia you wouldn't suspect him in the first place.
4. If you lynch Mestari you will lose because he will be the third party Doctor or some other townie power role.
5. DP1 lynches are good.
6. The answer is always no.
Buddamoose
Posts: 19,450
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/6/2012 9:57:36 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
VTL Westernmarch
"Reality is an illusion created due to a lack of alcohol"
-Airmax1227

"You were the moon all this time, and he was always there to make you shine."

"Was he the sun?"

"No honey, he was the darkness"

-Kazekirion
Mestari
Posts: 4,656
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/6/2012 9:59:47 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
About to be burned

West - 3/6 - Johnny, Logic, Budda
Drafter - 2/6 - Blue, Apollo
Rules of Mafia

1. Mestari is never third party.
2. If Mestari claims an intricate and page long TP role, he's telling the truth.
3. Mestari always jointly wins with the town.
3b. If he doesn't he's mafia.
3c. If he was mafia you wouldn't suspect him in the first place.
4. If you lynch Mestari you will lose because he will be the third party Doctor or some other townie power role.
5. DP1 lynches are good.
6. The answer is always no.
Zaradi
Posts: 14,128
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/6/2012 10:55:43 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
Okay, this is a little crazy. Props to Mestari for the wicked sick idea.

Anyway, I'll claim early since my role is a little hard to believe. I'm Ingenuity, and since it has always existed in both the past and the future (more or less, I don't remember Mestari's exact wording), I can talk and vote in both DPs. Mod may smiteth me if I'm wrong.
Want to debate? Pick a topic and hit me up! - http://www.debate.org...
bluesteel
Posts: 12,301
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/6/2012 11:28:20 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 8/6/2012 10:55:43 PM, Zaradi wrote:
Okay, this is a little crazy. Props to Mestari for the wicked sick idea.

Anyway, I'll claim early since my role is a little hard to believe. I'm Ingenuity, and since it has always existed in both the past and the future (more or less, I don't remember Mestari's exact wording), I can talk and vote in both DPs. Mod may smiteth me if I'm wrong.

You shouldn't have claimed.
You can't reason someone out of a position they didn't reason themselves into - Jonathan Swift (paraphrase)
Zaradi
Posts: 14,128
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/6/2012 11:38:57 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 8/6/2012 11:28:20 PM, bluesteel wrote:
At 8/6/2012 10:55:43 PM, Zaradi wrote:
Okay, this is a little crazy. Props to Mestari for the wicked sick idea.

Anyway, I'll claim early since my role is a little hard to believe. I'm Ingenuity, and since it has always existed in both the past and the future (more or less, I don't remember Mestari's exact wording), I can talk and vote in both DPs. Mod may smiteth me if I'm wrong.

You shouldn't have claimed.

Well seeing as I'm listed in both the Past DP and Future DP, it wouldn't have taken people very long to figure out (FT already pointed it out in the other DP). So I really don't think there's that much harm in me reifying the obvious.
Want to debate? Pick a topic and hit me up! - http://www.debate.org...
Logic_on_rails
Posts: 2,445
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/7/2012 1:43:45 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
To be frank I don't think that Zaradi's revelation is that earth shattering. Chances are he's town or a powerful 3rd party, but he's very likely not Mafia in my opinion. Given that Mafia probably determined that Zaradi was in 2 DPs it's fine for him to say it, as he didn't actually divulge any additional role, should he have it.

That's 1 claim, plus whatever has occurred in the future (I'm not reading time states I'm not in due to the game's 'spirit' as Mestari termed it) . I'm therefore not supporting 2 more claims this DP; 1 at most. I'm happy with West's claim given my complete lack of knowledge of him, but I'm also eager enough to get Blue's claim.

Why Blue? He claims that we ought to target the experienced players for claims. Of course, Bluesteel is experienced, and to prevent any controlling by the Mafia the instigator of the policy ought to claim. Why haven't I claimed then? Because my policy recommends having beginner types (relatively) claim, and I don't fall under that category.

Regardless, it's not a critical factor, and perhaps we'd be best served by VTNLing so that the future's players don't have to wait too long and bore themselves and get the inactivity we associate with town losses.
"Tis not in mortals to command success
But we"ll do more, Sempronius, we"ll deserve it
drafterman
Posts: 18,870
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/7/2012 8:51:36 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 8/6/2012 9:44:40 PM, bluesteel wrote:
VTL drafterman experienced players should claim first

As you wish.

VTL bluesteel more experienced players should claim first.
caveat
Posts: 2,137
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/7/2012 9:04:48 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
Welp, west still hasn't claimed but had the time to post BS. Cool.

Judging from my role pm, it's possible that we have separate roles for the past and future states.
There is an art, it says, or rather, a knack to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss. " Clearly, it is this second part, the missing, which presents the difficulties.
drafterman
Posts: 18,870
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/7/2012 9:05:48 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 8/7/2012 9:04:48 AM, caveat wrote:
Welp, west still hasn't claimed but had the time to post BS. Cool.

He claimed 1-shot governor.


Judging from my role pm, it's possible that we have separate roles for the past and future states.
caveat
Posts: 2,137
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/7/2012 9:09:45 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 8/7/2012 9:05:48 AM, drafterman wrote:
At 8/7/2012 9:04:48 AM, caveat wrote:
Welp, west still hasn't claimed but had the time to post BS. Cool.

He claimed 1-shot governor.

.__. you speak westernmarchinese?


Judging from my role pm, it's possible that we have separate roles for the past and future states.
There is an art, it says, or rather, a knack to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss. " Clearly, it is this second part, the missing, which presents the difficulties.
caveat
Posts: 2,137
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/7/2012 9:17:27 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 8/7/2012 9:15:36 AM, drafterman wrote:
At 8/7/2012 3:40:36 AM, westernmarch wrote:
One shot Gubbanator

What's so hard to understand about this?

The hell is "One shot"?
There is an art, it says, or rather, a knack to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss. " Clearly, it is this second part, the missing, which presents the difficulties.
drafterman
Posts: 18,870
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/7/2012 9:44:22 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 8/7/2012 9:17:27 AM, caveat wrote:
At 8/7/2012 9:15:36 AM, drafterman wrote:
At 8/7/2012 3:40:36 AM, westernmarch wrote:
One shot Gubbanator

What's so hard to understand about this?

The hell is "One shot"?

He has one shot.
Like... 1-shot cop. 1-shot framer. He's a 1-shot Governor.
caveat
Posts: 2,137
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/7/2012 9:54:19 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 8/7/2012 9:44:22 AM, drafterman wrote:
At 8/7/2012 9:17:27 AM, caveat wrote:
At 8/7/2012 9:15:36 AM, drafterman wrote:
At 8/7/2012 3:40:36 AM, westernmarch wrote:
One shot Gubbanator

What's so hard to understand about this?

The hell is "One shot"?

He has one shot.
Like... 1-shot cop. 1-shot framer. He's a 1-shot Governor.

I was being sarcastic .___.
There is an art, it says, or rather, a knack to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss. " Clearly, it is this second part, the missing, which presents the difficulties.
drafterman
Posts: 18,870
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/7/2012 9:56:03 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
At 8/7/2012 9:53:15 AM, Apollo.11 wrote:
Isn't that more common as a scum role? Like RB?

Huh? Roleblocker? It means he can overturn a lynch. It is almost exclusively a Town Role.

http://wiki.mafiascum.net...
http://wiki.epicmafia.com...
caveat
Posts: 2,137
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/7/2012 10:00:00 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
What I don't understand is why he would role claim right now. Governor isn't particularly harmful to scum and doesn't really have much positive use for Town since the player probably won't be in a situation where he has information Town does not have regarding the lynch target.

I haven't read the Future DP, but I would assume they've gotten one or two character claims themselves. We should probably tread carefully in terms of getting claims.
There is an art, it says, or rather, a knack to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss. " Clearly, it is this second part, the missing, which presents the difficulties.
Mestari
Posts: 4,656
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
8/7/2012 11:58:47 AM
Posted: 4 years ago
About to be burned

West - 3/6 - Johnny, Logic, Budda
Drafter - 2/6 - Blue, Apollo
Blue - 1/6 - Drafter
Rules of Mafia

1. Mestari is never third party.
2. If Mestari claims an intricate and page long TP role, he's telling the truth.
3. Mestari always jointly wins with the town.
3b. If he doesn't he's mafia.
3c. If he was mafia you wouldn't suspect him in the first place.
4. If you lynch Mestari you will lose because he will be the third party Doctor or some other townie power role.
5. DP1 lynches are good.
6. The answer is always no.