Total Posts:1|Showing Posts:1-1
Jump to topic:

Reactive Attachment Disorder

Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/16/2010 9:23:49 PM
Posted: 6 years ago
There is a condition referred to as Reactive Attachment Disorder that describes children who at a very young age (under three) did not receive adequate bonding with their mother. Although I have a healthy skepticism of research, there is plenty of research out there, to show how very critical early bonding is, yet people who often take what the experts say as gospel seem to conveniently overlook. From my experience as a school psychologist, I believe many kids today share some of the same problems as children with a true Reactive Attachment Disorder. This is the case for children from all types of backgrounds: high income, low income, professional parents, blue collar parents, two parent homes, single parent homes, Caucasian families, minority families, and many combinations thereof. There are kids who come from all kinds of homes that don't receive the bonding, attention, and time from their parents. Don't misunderstand me, I do believe there are children who suffer from genuine Reactive Attachment Disorder. These are the most serious casualties of parental neglect. They often are the infants who were born to a drug addicted mother, were abused, and bounced from foster home to foster home. But everything occurs on a continuum. Kids who come from high-income, two-professional-parent homes, with all the material fluff and activities that money can buy, can be the victims of insufficient bonding, attention, and caring from their parents. Each child has to be considered individually.