Jump to topic:

Islamic History

YassineB
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
3/15/2015 7:54:35 PM
Posted: 1 year ago
- What do you actually know about Islamic History?

- Do you think the West knows about Islamic History? Do you think they ought to?

- Discuss a topic in Islamic History.
Current Debates In Voting Period:

- The Qur'an We Have Today is Not What Muhammad Dictated Verbatim. Vs. @Envisage:
http://www.debate.org...

- Drawing Contest. Vs. @purpleduck:

"It is perfectly permissible to vote on sources without reading them" bluesteel.
Otokage
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
3/16/2015 6:09:19 PM
At 3/15/2015 7:54:35 PM, YassineB wrote:

- Do you think the West knows about Islamic History? Do you think they ought to?

what portion of the population you are referring to? Highschool students? As a Highschool teacher, I don't believe they should spend teaching hours in Islamic History, although I believe Islam should be given more credit in the subject called "Religion" which is sadly absolutely flooded with contents about Christianity as if Christianity was more important than Islam or any other religion.
YassineB
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
3/16/2015 7:26:18 PM
At 3/16/2015 6:09:19 PM, Otokage wrote:

what portion of the population you are referring to? Highschool students? As a Highschool teacher, I don't believe they should spend teaching hours in Islamic History, although I believe Islam should be given more credit in the subject called "Religion" which is sadly absolutely flooded with contents about Christianity as if Christianity was more important than Islam or any other religion.

- I would think that's because Christianity is an essential part of the culture & society & thus should be given more weight.

- My question is general, teaching & learning about Islamic History in general.

- The Qur'an We Have Today is Not What Muhammad Dictated Verbatim. Vs. @Envisage: