Total Posts:6|Showing Posts:1-6
Jump to topic:

Any American Civil War Buffs in the House??

Saint_of_Me
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/7/2015 4:38:16 PM
Posted: 1 year ago
I am a huge student of the American Civil War. And its usually one of my most frequent topics of debate on other Net History Forums I engage in. But I never see it mentioned here.

So I was wondering is perhaps anybody would like to begin a thread on it? Any topic of the War, You choose. (Although, I would humbly ask that we do not engage in the old "Was the Civil War fought over Slavery or States Rights?" That one has been done enough.

Rather, I would rather discuss matters more pertaining to the actual fighting. The Generals. The Battles. The Strategies. The Blunders.

Let's go. This could be an very interesting and fun thread.

Thanks!
Science Flies Us to the Moon. Religion Flies us Into Skyscrapers.
j50wells
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/10/2015 3:21:03 PM
For the most part, the first half of the Civil War was a complete blunder for the Union. The only general who was winning battles in the first two years was Grant. McClellan was a class act loser. He almost cost the north the war. The very first battle, The Battle of Bull Run, was a complete route by the south. Union soldiers, and civilian onlookers who came to watch the battle, were forced to flee, back into town. They should be happy that the Confederates didn't pursue them into town or that might have been the end of the war right there.