Jump to topic:

Learn Computer Programming

Lordknukle
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/4/2012 8:52:56 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
I want to learn computer programming but I have no idea where to start, so I have a few questions.

1. What is the most common language used by computer programers (I think it's something like C or C++)?

2. What are some good resources for a COMPLETE beginner to work with?
"Easy is the descent to Avernus, for the door to the Underworld lies upon both day and night. But to retrace your steps and return to the breezes above- that's the task, that's the toil."
drafterman
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/4/2012 9:07:05 PM
The language depends on what you want to do. There is C++, VisualBasic, perl, Python, Ruby, Java, JavaScript, php. What is your goal?
Lordknukle
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/4/2012 10:27:17 PM
No freakin idea. Just learn how to write code to make programs. Obviously not as a real job, but just for some experimentation.
"Easy is the descent to Avernus, for the door to the Underworld lies upon both day and night. But to retrace your steps and return to the breezes above- that's the task, that's the toil."
vbaculum
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
1/4/2012 10:56:44 PM
At 1/4/2012 10:27:17 PM, Lordknukle wrote:
No freakin idea. Just learn how to write code to make programs. Obviously not as a real job, but just for some experimentation.

C and C++ are difficult but they may appeal to you if you are interested in learning how software manages RAM allocation or works directly with devices. They are the fasted languages (in terms of run time; the slowest to write in) and most versatile.