Jump to topic:

Literary Ownership

EndarkenedRationalist
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/14/2015 5:41:31 PM
Posted: 1 year ago
While I was reading about the recent Harper Lee controversy centering around the portrayal of Atticus in Go Set a Watchman, I came across an interesting question which I wanted to share with the users of DDO.

Do literary characters belong to the author? The reader? Both? Neither?

As an author myself, I find this question especially intriguing. I would have assumed most people would say that the author owns the character, but that viewpoint was in the minority in the discussions I saw. What do you all think?
Sapphique
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/14/2015 8:31:46 PM
At 7/14/2015 5:41:31 PM, EndarkenedRationalist wrote:
While I was reading about the recent Harper Lee controversy centering around the portrayal of Atticus in Go Set a Watchman, I came across an interesting question which I wanted to share with the users of DDO.

As an author myself, I find this question especially intriguing. I would have assumed most people would say that the author owns the character, but that viewpoint was in the minority in the discussions I saw. What do you all think?

Interesting question--I haven't thought about that before. I think that while the characters still exist only in the author's mind, then obviously they belong fully to the author. But once they're written into books and people read them, well...they pass through the pages into the reader's imagination, and I think that in a way gives readers a claim on the characters. So yeah, both. The author still has the final say since he/she is the original creator. I don't know much about the Atticus Finch controversy, but if he's portrayed in a way that destroys readers' conception of him in their minds, they'll be angry--perhaps rightfully so. I know I'd be pissed if a character I liked suddenly became totally different in the next book.