Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
3/26/2016 6:48:40 PM
Posted: 8 months ago
The debate
http://www.debate.org...

Housekeeping
I"m honored to be nominated as a judge in this debate. I respect both bsh1 and airmax as people and as debaters. My decision is purely objective and is not personal in any way, shape, or form. My personal belief on the topic is neutral since I didn"t even know there were different approaches to free speech prior to being nominated to vote on this. As a result, I have no background or personal bias at all on the topic, which is pretty cool. I look forward to learning about it.

R1 set-up is pretty good. The resolution is normative; thus by default each side as equal burdens. Pro has to convince me that the US approach to free speech is more desirable than the EU approach to free speech in spite of Con"s reasons against it, and Con has to convince me that the EU approach to free speech is more desirable than the US approach to free speech in spite of Pro"s reasons against it. My decision comes out of which side ends up with more impact (because "On balance"").

As accepted by both debaters: the side that wins the debate is the side that balances free speech the best among the pantheon of other rights and social goods (to paraphrase from R2). Pro"s side situates free speech over other rights, that it should be top in a hierarchical structure. Con"s side situates free speech among the other rights, equal in importance; all balanced together. Both debaters raise benefits that their sides poses, and negatives of the other side poses.