Total Posts:13|Showing Posts:1-13
Jump to topic:

Professor on hunger strike against alimony.

Eitan_Zohar
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
11/5/2013 3:10:31 PM
Posted: 3 years ago
"My name is Santiago Mora and I am a professor at St. Thomas University in Fredericton, New Brunswick. Today - as a victim of the law - I am forced to start a hunger strike.

I married Claudia Rocha in 1986 in Bogot", Colombia, and later moved to Canada with three children of ours. In 2008, at my wife"s request, we arranged for a legal separation and a divorce in Colombia. In December 2008, Claudia left the family home in Fredericton for good. She also accepted money representing an equal division of our assets, in conformity with the separation agreement, along with an agreement that frees her from any monetary responsibility with our children; this agreement further stipulates that there would be no demands of alimony between us.

In 2012, Claudia, immediately after having lost her job with the government of the province of New Brunswick, filed a lawsuit against me, ignoring the separation agreement from Colombia, as well as the payments she had already received based on that agreement.

In October 2013, the New Brunswick court ordered that 63% of my salary should be delivered to Claudia Rocha to ensure her maintenance, and another 20% to her attorney. As I can no longer afford to pay mortgage, the alienation of 83% of my salary forces me to put on sale the house where I live with my daughter. It also forces me to live on approximately $800 per month, from which I have to pay $375 for the room of my youngest son, who is attending university out of town.

It is incredible that after working all my life I was without a trial imposed by court a condition under which I cannot pay for my basic needs, let alone hire a lawyer to defend myself. " - http://aurelianob22.wix.com...

Thoughts?
"It is my ambition to say in ten sentences what others say in a whole book."
thett3