Jump to topic:

Persuasive speech

darkkermit
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
11/27/2011 3:37:08 PM
Posted: 5 years ago
Hey, I have to do a persuasive speech for an organization I'm a part of (non-profit organization that teaches leadership & public speaking).

I'm thinking about doing it on abolishing the minimum wage. I don't exactly want to do an exactly controversial topic (a lot of them are middle age, retirees, and I live in a liberal state). Do you think this is an appropriate topic?
Open borders debate:
http://www.debate.org...
innomen
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
11/27/2011 3:46:16 PM
I do persuasive speeches for a living, and it's much different than debate. It's less about logic and evidence more about hyperbole and passion. You need to know your audience too, that's really key, and know how to appeal to them. I dunno that i would take that subject, but i don't know what you have to choose from.
OMGJustinBieber
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
11/27/2011 3:49:43 PM
I would actually seriously avoid abolishing the minimum wage. I don't think it's even been a serious political consideration, and you're likely to offend a good amount of people even though that's not your intentions. Plus, under conservative presidents who don't continually boost it the minimum wage just becomes much less of a factor under inflation. It's an emotional issue and not an idea that's really "on the table."
bluesteel
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
11/27/2011 3:52:28 PM
choose a slightly less "political topic" would be my advice

for example: organ donation

discuss possible proposals to increase donations (presumed consent, driver's license/registration, the Spanish model, financial incentives)

cite some stats on how badly organs are needed and how these are easily avoidable deaths

talk about a little kid who died for need of a transplant.