Jump to topic:

Real Life Debate Rounds

cameronl35
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
12/11/2011 9:00:58 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
Since I'm new to high school debate I don't know if this is a common problem or not, but after spending my whole entire weekend and a total of 9 debate rounds I made it to the semifinals and a university invitational. In my semifinal round I ended up hitting the first seed. We were debating animal rights and he chose negative. We both agreed on the value of justice but his valid criterion was justice..so he was using circular reasoning (I don't think my judges understood). His contentions were that animals are not just and animals are indifferent to justice so essentially the same thing. He simply just cracked jokes during the round and dropped a whole contention of mine and brought up a new argument in his last speech. The judges ended up giving him the win with a 2-1 decision.

Judges who voted for him: A goth college student wearing all black with a shirt that said "Nuke 'em all!" (as if that doesn't propose a dark background) who gave me an RFD of 10 seconds by restating his Carl Cohen quote and then saying animals are immoral and don't get rights so she voted Neg. Then the other judge sat in the very back of the room and was drinking an energy drink struggling to stay awake and instead his reasoning was HE was arguing against my contentions and proving them wrong. NONE of these two were flowing

Judge who voted for me: Coach of a debate team, said I controlled the Cross X, refuted everything and made stronger points. She didn't flow but she was paying close attention unlike the other two.

Has this ever happened to any of you? I don't know but I am so frustrated right now...I could've made it to the FINALS of a university tournament...What can I do to prevent this?
"They call it the American Dream because you have to be asleep to believe it."
-George Carlin (R.I.P.)

"MLK day is simply racism against whites."