Jump to topic:

Dispute with professor

Brain_crazy
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/2/2012 5:52:15 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
My sociology professor has been arguing to us that genes don't influence intelligence, and that intelligence is a social construct. I find this to be both bizarre and completely wrong. My response was the following:

Dear Professor X,

I should have commented on this in class, but nonetheless, as a psychology student I can't help but feel the need to challenge your outlook on intelligence. You were right to say that Einstein could very well be a great physicist, but may possibly be a lousy social citizen/sociologists. No doubt this is possible, but what you're speaking of more so involves knowledge rather than intelligence. Knowledge is a pool of learned material, while intelligence is normally thought of as the ability or capacity to learn from experience. Now you might say that there are multiple intelligences, perhaps such as mathematical thinking versus say linguistics. (Theory of multiple intelligences) I also agree strongly with you that hard work and perseverance can be crucial elements to success. But to jump to the conclusion that genes don't influence intelligence is bizarre. Is there not a genetic difference involved in the general intelligence between humans and rats? Unless you're willing to say that there isn't, then it is quite obvious that you're admitting that genetics influence intelligence. Is it likely for someone with a genetic disorder such as Down syndrome to become a great physicists like Einstein? Sadly, if we are honest with ourselves the answer is certainly no. I understand your point however, that sometimes we can overstate raw natural intelligence and underestimate hard work. This I certainly agree with, but we can't pretend that genes don't influence intelligence.

Thanks for your time,

Thoughts??
MasterKage
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/2/2012 5:55:31 PM