Jump to topic:

What does it mean to "know" someone?

tulle
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/25/2012 5:17:31 PM
Posted: 4 years ago
One a scale of 1-10, 1 being "not at all" and 10 being "very well", how well would you say you know yourself?

Think of the closest person to you in your life. On the same scale, how well would you say you know them? How well would you say they know you?

At what point is it sufficient for a person to say they "know" another person?
yang.
Maikuru
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/26/2012 4:19:19 AM
This is a very interesting question. I love introspection and that has nothing to do with the fact that I have no friends.

In terms of knowing myself, I give myself a 7. I constantly break promises to myself, forcing myself to change plans and schedules because I wasn't able to force myself to do something necessary. I also struggle with addiction and I have no control or foreknowledge of resurgences.

My fiancee would get a 9. She knew me so innately and was able to predict my successes and failures with eerie accuracy, well beyond my own predictions. My mom would get a 5. She loves me dearly but seems blind to my actual beliefs and personality traits.

All I think it takes to know someone is to understand the reasoning behind their decision making. That may sound simplistic but I hold that it's actually the most difficult aspect of any relationship, usually because motivation goes well beyond what is spoken or explained. I think this understanding can come into play either before or after they act; I don't think anticipating someone's actions are necessary for knowing someone.
"You assume I wouldn't want to burn this whole place to the ground."
- lamerde

https://i.imgflip.com...
The_Fool_on_the_hill
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
7/26/2012 5:06:00 AM
At 7/25/2012 5:17:31 PM, tulle wrote: