Jump to topic:

Age Is Just a Number

ConservativePolitico
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/13/2013 2:19:51 PM
Posted: 3 years ago
I've been thinking about this and our society has strict age taboos on dating between certain people.

But age is an arbitrary number applied to a sense of time which really means nothing. I bring this up because I'm a college freshman (19) who is now dating a high school junior (16). But I don't think about age at all, it means nothing and has no bearing on our feelings for each other or our compatibility.

Why is age such a big deal?
bossyburrito
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/13/2013 2:20:45 PM
Consent.
#UnbanTheMadman

"Some will sell their dreams for small desires
Or lose the race to rats
Get caught in ticking traps
And start to dream of somewhere
To relax their restless flight
Somewhere out of a memory of lighted streets on quiet nights..."

~ Rush
muzebreak
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/13/2013 2:22:23 PM
At 2/13/2013 2:20:45 PM, bossyburrito wrote:
Consent.

This.
"Every kid starts out as a natural-born scientist, and then we beat it out of them. A few trickle through the system with their wonder and enthusiasm for science intact." - Carl Sagan

This is the response of the defenders of Sparta to the Commander of the Roman Army: "If you are a god, you will not hurt those who have never injured you. If you are a man, advance - you will find men equal to yourself. And women.
Ragnar_Rahl
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/13/2013 2:24:11 PM
Age has a very weak correlation with consent, and certainly no causation. Granny is just as likely to say no to your proposition as your local six-year old, probably more so and with a negligible difference in likelihood with your local 40 year old (assuming all are same gender and same legal situation), and as rational animals they are both able to let their yeas be their yeas and their nays be their nays.