Jump to topic:

How do you write so well?

Eitan_Zohar
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/24/2013 6:59:50 PM
Posted: 3 years ago
OK, I'm talking about three members of this site: Cody, YYW, and charleslb. Each one is extremely literate and seems to know precisely the right words in order to make their points understood while using sesquipedalian rhetoric just as well (charleslb, in my estimation, is the best, and also the best at disguising the fact that he rarely has much of a point). Some of their posts are better in this regard than some peer-reviewed articles written by professors I've looked at. How do they do it? I consider myself to be very well spoken online, but even if you gave me the entire day to type up a post I couldn't make it sound quite like they do. So, as a writer, I'm just curious as to how they got that way, and if this is a learned trait or something they've always had (in which case I'm in luck, because I was always a speed-reader growing up).
"It is my ambition to say in ten sentences what others say in a whole book."
Noumena
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/24/2013 7:31:04 PM
Cocaine's a hell of a drug.
: At 5/13/2014 7:05:20 PM, Crescendo wrote:
: The difference is that the gay movement is currently pushing their will on Churches, as shown in the link to gay marriage in Denmark. Meanwhile, the Inquisition ended several centuries ago.
Eitan_Zohar
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/24/2013 7:35:43 PM
At 2/24/2013 7:34:10 PM, darkkermit wrote:
I assume they read a lot of books. They're also really smart.

I read a lot of books (was reading college level books in fifth grade). "Smart" is an empty term.
darkkermit
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
2/24/2013 7:37:12 PM
At 2/24/2013 7:35:43 PM, Eitan_Zohar wrote:

I read a lot of books (was reading college level books in fifth grade). "Smart" is an empty term.