Total Posts:3|Showing Posts:1-3
Jump to topic:

Switching Majors Help

Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/26/2013 11:46:30 AM
Posted: 3 years ago
So starting of as a freshman, I switched my major from architechture to graphic design and finally settled with photography. At our school you are given two chances to present your work to determine if you qualify for the BFA program which I was trying to pursue. I applied for a review my first semester of my sophmore year and didn't make it into the program due to bad grades, lack of creativity, and not much work to showcase.

Instead of giving it a second try, I automatically switched my major to a BA in Music since I play 4 different instruments and enjoy music so much. I figured I would do studio music work such as composing, arranging and teaching students on the side. I finished my second and third year completing all my music classes with fairly good grades.

Then over the summer, I went on an art tour to Europe and my passion for the arts returned and I found that my skill and eye for creativity increased dramatically. Now I look back to people in the music major and I feel like I just don't belong. Everyone is an expert mucisian interested in all these 5 hour long classical concerts and on the side they compose all these classical arrangements and its more of just a hobby to me and I can find myself to enjoy the classical music as they do.