Jump to topic:

An annoying character trait

000ike
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/12/2013 7:45:09 PM
Posted: 3 years ago
I'm not a "small talk" kind of person, but I keep finding myself in situations where I have to make small talk - like if I see someone I haven't seen in a long time. It's never that I don't want to see that person, I do and I'm happy to see them. It's just that I'm not good at coming up with things to talk about or following up on a conversation that I don't really care about. So in an effort to avoid that horrible awkward silence I come up with a topic of conversation that I'm not really interested in or I follow up on the conversation started by the other person, which I'm also not interested in. So the whole thing ends up feeling more like a chore than a pleasant encounter. For that reason I tend to avoid the encounter altogether, and that doesn't make me happy.

Don't over-interpret this to mean that I have some kind of personality disorder. I can hold a conversation comfortably if I felt like it - the issue here is that I'd think it a chore, and not want to.

Anyone else have this kind of experience?
"A stupid despot may constrain his slaves with iron chains; but a true politician binds them even more strongly with the chain of their own ideas" - Michel Foucault
OMGJustinBieber
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/12/2013 8:01:59 PM
At 9/12/2013 7:45:09 PM, 000ike wrote: