Jump to topic:

Relationship, deferred

YYW
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
9/14/2013 8:59:02 PM
Posted: 3 years ago
There are so many mistakes I've made in relationships that I've tried to cultivate, but which I've done something to muck up. I'm not comfortable being vulnerable, so I put up emotional walls between myself and whoever I'm dating. I'm not good at talking about emotions, because I keep most of what I really feel bottled up. I have a hard time talking about sex, and I always have, because in the 21 years that I've been alive I've never been really comfortable with my body.

I'm more comfortable with friends than I am with guys I date, because I always wonder what they're thinking when we're talking. I'm always afraid I'll say something unintentionally callous, condescending, shallow or stupid that will turn them off. I'm obsessed with dressing well and being perfectly groomed, and I'm uncomfortable waking up the next morning always knowing that I looked so much better the night before if I brought someone back with me. I've never regretted hooking up with someone, though. I've never looked at someone I brought back or who I went home with and thought how bad they looked in the morning. There's something perfectly sexy about imperfect bedhead. But lust is only a part of it...