Jump to topic:

Programming

Rubikx
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/7/2015 10:38:23 PM
Posted: 1 year ago
First off, how many people here have any programming experience?

I just thought of a summer programming project that I have no idea how to do and I was wondering how hard it might be.

My idea was to make a program that stores what ingredients you have and suggests recipes from the internet and learns based off of your food habits. Like if you consistently choose italian it will suggest italian recipes more often.

I have some self-taught experience in python, and I took a computer science course in school this year in Java (grade 11).

Would this be an impossible project considering my experience or should I go for it?
RevNge
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/7/2015 10:47:30 PM
At 6/7/2015 10:38:23 PM, Rubikx wrote:

I just thought of a summer programming project that I have no idea how to do and I was wondering how hard it might be.

My idea was to make a program that stores what ingredients you have and suggests recipes from the internet and learns based off of your food habits. Like if you consistently choose italian it will suggest italian recipes more often.

I have some self-taught experience in python, and I took a computer science course in school this year in Java (grade 11).

Would this be an impossible project considering my experience or should I go for it?

I'm more of an HTML/ja<x>vascript guy, but what you're proposing doesn't sound too far-fetched. Difficult, but not impossible.
Rubikx
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
6/7/2015 10:50:15 PM
At 6/7/2015 10:47:30 PM, RevNge wrote:

I'm more of an HTML/ja<x>vascript guy, but what you're proposing doesn't sound too far-fetched. Difficult, but not impossible.

Ok, thats kinda what I was thinking but I didn't really want to start a project that I knew I couldn't finish. Just out of curiosity, do you program as a job or more of a hobby?
RevNge