Jump to topic:

To Quit Chorus, or Not to Quit

SolonKR
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
12/3/2015 6:16:04 PM
Posted: 1 year ago
I've found myself in a dilemma when it comes to course sign-ups for next semester (I'm a college freshman). I've always been a huge chorus nerd, moving around my other classes (or, as was the case in 1 year of high school, dropping my lunch) to fit it in my schedule.

However, college chorus (I'm in two ensembles) isn't really doing it for me. I don't feel challenged to be a better musician like I used to, and attending the rehearsals has honestly become a bit of a chore.

So, here's my dilemma--I could drop my choruses to take a class that I might have more fun taking (another history class, or perhaps an econ class, or perhaps a poli sci one; there are a lot of options), or I could try to stick with it for one more semester to see if things improve. I know that my freshman year of high school, I didn't have a sense of camaraderie until the last month of classes, but I still had enjoyed singing and learning to read music and all of that. It was never a chore, and I signed up for chorus again before I had made any friends. But, now, the joy of singing has disappeared :/

tl;dr Should I stick with chorus for one more semester, or should I take a break from it (I could always sign up again next year if I find I can't live without the class)?
SO to Bailey, the love of my life <3
TheFlex
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
12/3/2015 9:59:12 PM
At 12/3/2015 6:16:04 PM, SolonKR wrote:
I've found myself in a dilemma when it comes to course sign-ups for next semester (I'm a college freshman). I've always been a huge chorus nerd, moving around my other classes (or, as was the case in 1 year of high school, dropping my lunch) to fit it in my schedule.