Jump to topic:

Thinking of Becoming an Actuary

Andromeda_Z
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
12/1/2016 3:45:56 PM
Posted: 1 day ago
I've been looking into various careers because, despite having a good job already, I have no idea what I really want to do with my life and this one seems truly perfect for me. Are there any actuaries here/anyone that has any advice or words of wisdom on this? I'd be going back to school to get my Bachelor's degree in Mathematics & Statistics at the local college, and taking about half a dozen actuarial exams, but honestly that sounds like a very enjoyable process. I love math homework. (Oh god, did I really just say that?) Seems like a job I'd really enjoy, though, and the pay is fantastic.
Devilry
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
12/1/2016 3:49:37 PM
I'm currently studying to become an actuary. I have no illusions about it being any other than boring as sht though. The dude in Fight Club was an actuary before it drove him nuts. I plan on just making bucks then becoming a maths teacher for the holidays.
: : : At 11/15/2016 6:22:17 PM, Greyparrot wrote:
: That's not racism. Thats economics.
Vaarka
Add as Friend
Challenge to a Debate
Send a Message
12/1/2016 3:49:53 PM
At 12/1/2016 3:45:56 PM, Andromeda_Z wrote:
I've been looking into various careers because, despite having a good job already, I have no idea what I really want to do with my life and this one seems truly perfect for me. Are there any actuaries here/anyone that has any advice or words of wisdom on this? I'd be going back to school to get my Bachelor's degree in Mathematics & Statistics at the local college, and taking about half a dozen actuarial exams, but honestly that sounds like a very enjoyable process. I love math homework. (Oh god, did I really just say that?) Seems like a job I'd really enjoy, though, and the pay is fantastic.

What's an actuary?
You're probably thinking right now "haha I'm a genius". Well you're not -Valkrin